We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now under a new name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New London

Holiday Inn New London
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn New London to your Saves list
Holiday Inn New London
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Governor Winthrop Boulevard, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
Albrightsville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Now under a new name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staying at this hotel with a large group for a reunion. On checking in I was daunted with notice from the front desk ckerk that I would be charged a day's rate for being late checking in. I arrived on the correct day and they have screwed up my reservations. They say they will fix it by the time I chekcout. We'll see. The hotel has just changed to a Holiday Inn. It looks like remodeling has been done. The room is large and well equipped - except for the refrigerator and microwave that were promised. Maybe this is part of the start up problems. we did a good group rate for the rooms. The banquet rooms are maybe average at best. The hotel is in the center of New London and just off of the water. No great complaints or great kudos for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear cjw_9,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to New London.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
31
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The only work I saw was one morning they were still pulling some network wire in the bar/restaurant area. I had lunch there -- a guinness and a chicken wrap and the sandwich was good. The room was clean, and pretty much new. Bed was new, sheets were clean. Good water pressure. Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stay away from this place until everything is done. They couldn't find my reservation, wanted to charge more than the quoted price, told me after I had checked in and paid that there was no water, my room was only sort-of clean (bathroom especially not clean) the room across the hall from me was trashed; holes in the walls, fixtures torn out... none of the ice machines worked; packets of coffee but no coffee maker, only about 3 rooms of guests, one of which was college age boys who ran up and down the hall shouting and carousing at 3:00 a.m. Lobby coffee very reluctantly supplied after I asked twice; they couldn't print a receipt for me and told me they would email it (but never got it) Water briefly back on in the evening but when I ran the water in the tub it stayed pure black...toilet didn't flush well. Really horrid...should be shut down until ready. Will never, ever, ever go back there. Stayed 3/30/13

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear CynthiaW403,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry for the issues you had at check-in and the service you received was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the room accommodations you received and any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e falmouth,usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My bed smelled like the sheets were washed with a package of cigarettes,paint peeling on ceiling of bathroom & tv didn't work. Yes they are going thru renovations but it was dicussing. We have stayed there before but nothing like what it was like this time. I hope when Holiday Inn takes over it's much better

Room Tip: Don't stay here till it changes ownership!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear rosemuff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom condition and room amenities. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The New London Plaza used to be the Radisson and soon will be the Holiday Inn. As of March 3, 2013, there is still construction going on, and the pool and the restaurant are closed. Call if you want to stay there; don't use online reservation sites, which are confused about what kind of hotel this is.

The staff was a bit confused. They told us there would be no breakfast, because of the construction, but then in the morning there was breakfast in the lobby. Our telephone did not work, and there was no coffeepot in our room, nor could they find one to put there. The parts of the hotel where the construction is finished looked very nice, and I think this will be a good place to stay once the construction is done and the staff are better trained. The price was excellent. Perhaps they know we deserve a break because of the construction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ken O,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience you may have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-experience service to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

On a girls weekend we stayed here. We got in around 8pm, the lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We took the shuttle to the casino, the driver was great! He was friendly and very helpful! The beds were super comfy! It's definitely a good pick!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I chose this hotel because my daughter and I were catching an early train the next morning. A description of the hotel indicated it was recently renovated however, the renovations were still going on and the advertised restaurant was not in existence. On first glance it looked like an unused building.
While the guest room was nicely furnished the thermostat read 53 degrees when we entered. After 20 minutes of trying to get the room warmed up I went to the front desk. A hotel employee came up and fiddled with the heater, finally getting it going. Once it began giving off some heat he left for the evening. The temperature in the room got to 61 degrees. During the night the heater went off again. In the morning the room was 53 once more. We dressed in haste and went to the lobby for heat and the pastries and coffee we were told would be available. Pastries were nowhere in sight. To top it all off, we were charged twice on our credit card!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn New London, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Hollowite,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your stay with us.

I am truly sorry to hear your issues with the air conditioning system during your visit. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. I assure you that this is not the standard in our property and we will ensure that these points will be addressed accordingly.

It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New London

Address: 35 Governor Winthrop Boulevard, New London, CT 06320 (Formerly New London Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn New London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn-New London has expertly managed facilities and staff offering 100% guest satisfaction.Located just one mile off I-95 in New London, midway between Boston & New York, two blocks from the Amtrak Station, Orient Point, Long Island & Block Island Ferries, 15 minutes from the Groton-New London Airport, 45 minutes from T.F. Green Airport & Bradley Airport.The Holiday Inn-New London offers 120 well appointed guestrooms, including 4 deluxe suites. Rooms are available with complimentary high speed wireless Internet, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and iron boards. We have an elegant Grand Ballroom with flexible meeting and banquet space for up to 300 people. We have our Lobby Cafe for up to 150 for cocktail parties, also our Eagle Room or Board Room for more intimate meetings or private dinners. Enjoy our indoor heated pool and fitness center. O's Bar & Grille Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in an atmosphere conducive to both business and casual dining. Room service is available.Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino are located nearby. The Holiday Inn-New London offers evening shuttle service available to the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday and Saturday evenings at a minimum cost of $15.00 round trip per person. We are located 10 minutes from Mystic Aquarium, Mystic Seaport, U.S. Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus Memorial, New London Ocean Beach Park, Harkness Memorial Park, Eugene O’Neill Theater & USCG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn New London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New London Radisson
Radisson New London

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.