We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to have breakfast/brunch/lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy Waters Cafe

Muddy Waters Cafe
42 Bank St, New London, CT 06320-6053
860-444-2232
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 123 restaurants in New London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to have breakfast/brunch/lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great place to walk in and grab a quick breakfast or to hang around, relax and enjoy your coffee, companion, the paper and breakfast. I sat so long I overheard a group at the next table who were eating lunch and having a meeting. This is a treasure. WE live in Tampa and i wish we had a place like this here. By the way the name refers to the great Blues Musician and instrumentalists are always welcome to come in and jam.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    32
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Downtown New London, with an outdoor deck that overlooks the train station and the river, this restaurant is a one-of-a-kind. The wonderful smell of coffee greets you at the door, helpful and friendly staff, large menu to choose from, and the great view from the back deck. We had bagels with different toppings, juice, and a variety of coffees, all just right. Hard to beat for an early morning experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a great little coffee shop. They are right next to the train station and when you have a little time before your train, its great to stop in for coffee and a breakfast sandwich. The atmosphere is laid back and mellow with an undertone of hipster. The food is good and the coffee is hot or cold depending on your tastes. Not much more to ask for.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming views where you can enjoy a cafe latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is one of the first place I was taken in New London for a good coffee and return regularly for my caffine hit. I enjoy the tasty cafe style food. The atmosphere of the lunch time crowd is good with the opportunity to sit on the deck and look out over the river.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ref. the previous comment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

During a two day visit to New London (our grandson is in the Coast Guard there) we discovered this charming Cafe. We stop there several times for coffee and breakfast. The coffee was good and so was everything else. I did not have any Capuccino, but I only wanted to say that in this country a realy good cup of Capuccino is hard to find. I hope to go to New London again to see our grandson and our place to stop will be the Muddy Waters Cafe and Chaplins (f. dinner). Greetings from Georgia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Waters Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Waters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy Waters Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.