We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy lobsters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Scott's Lobster Dock

Captain Scott's Lobster Dock
80 Hamilton St, New London, CT 06320-5543
860-439-1741
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 123 restaurants in New London
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Healthy lobsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is like a giant picnic in a lovely spot. BYOB. Lobster well prepared. We sipped our own wine as the sky turned dark blue and lights reflected on water and sailboats moored beside us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    114
    68
    22
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lobster Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I grew up in New London but have been living in the west for a long time. Lobster is scarce where I live now and usually frozen and not very good. So, I knew that Lobster would be my first choice at Captain Scott's. I had the lobster shore dinner which included a one and a quarter pound boiled lobster, cole slaw, corn on the cob and a choice between fries or red potatoes. I chose the potatoes. Lobster is at market value which means expensive (this dinner was $18). That's still less expensive than other places. It was absolutely divine. I also had chowder and clam fritters. The fritters were fine but not as good as those that I used to get in my youth at Ocean Beach. There is a choice of Rhode Island (clear) or New England (creamy) clam chowder. I always choose New England. It was excellent and was obviously homemade. The seating is on picnic benches outside. It is always really crowded. I recommend having someone in your party order and someone else find a table.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Next time, the cold lobster salad roll?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived at lunchtime on a Tuesday. The line was long but moved quickly. The wait for the food was short. Service was friendly. The purpose of our visit was to try their hot buttered lobster rolls. We also ordered New England style clam chowder and corn on the cob. The lobster rolls fell a bit short of our expectations. There was plenty of lobster meat but the butter seemed to have run off the meat and settled into the bottom of the hot dog roll leaving it soggy and the lobster meat somewhat dry. It also lacked the sweetness we are accustomed to in a boiled lobster. The chowder had a thin broth/cream base that I like. My husband prefers the thicker base. The chowder had lots of diced red potatoes but the pieces of clam were few and chewy. Corn on the cob was sweet and tender. We finished our meall with creamy Richardson's ice cream available in several flavors. Dining is at picnic tables in the sunny or shaded area of the dock.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My very first Lobster Roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were picking up my nephew from the Coast Guard Academy and staying in the area, so I researched where to get a lobster roll as I had never had one. Captain Scott's was highly rated so we decided to give it a go. It's a no frills outdoor place where you sit along the dock and order your food from a window. I loved it. And I loved the lobster roll. I don't have any other experiences to compare it to, but the lobster was very fresh and the roll was as well. I would pass on the clam fritters next time. They were like hush puppies with a miniscule piece of clam in them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good seafood shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There's a reason there's usually a long line at the food window. It's because the food is very good. The lobster rolls are excellent. The fried food is fried right. Bring your own beer or wine. Seating is outdoors, either open air or under a pavilion. It's between a boat dock and a train track. Prices quite reasonable. Very friendly atmosphere, staff as well as fellow diners.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Lobster Dock also viewed

 
New London, CT
New London, CT
 

Been to Captain Scott's Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Scott's Lobster Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.