We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront
250 Pequot Ave, New London, CT 06320
(860) 444-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 124 Restaurants in New London
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
manchester, nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Price is Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food was great with a good variety, the fish was fresh, and the service was splendid. Six of us on a Tuesday evening and lucked out with a dine-and-wine menu. For each two entries a bottle of wine was included. The wine was of excellent quality. In addition the view of the harbor added to a great evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will not disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

On a trip to the New London area, we wanted an unpretentious place for an evening, seafood meal. On the Waterfront is exactly that and is also a professionally run restaurant. The view, over a marina, was great because the windows were spotless, as the rest of the restaurant appeared to be. The food was simple, fresh and good. Service which was delivered by a wait staff team was pleasant and efficient. For the value we believe it was reasonably priced. The only negative is the parking, which is on the street, so you may have a modest walk to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

CT natives visiting family & friends...decided to try something new. Thanks to trip advisor we found this location. Nestled in amongst a marina & Electric Boat along the Thames River, we found this diamond in the rough. Two ordered the halibut special, one ordered the zuppa from the menu & I ordered the Bourbon Tuna from the specials menu. All were cooked to perfection & I particularly enjoyed the wasabi mashed potatoes with the tuna! Great blend of flavors used in all the meals. We also enjoyed the spicy garlic butter served with the bread. Pleasant & attentive staff. Definitely a repeat visit next time we are in the area!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Waterfront has great seafood and Italian food. Excellent wine paired well with the food. The scallop appetizer was just yummy. All this and a view of the marina too. Our family had a great meal celebrating our son's graduation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

There were five of us sitting by a window overlooking the water....so relaxing. We enjoyed our meals (we all ended up ordering different seafood dishes!) along with two bottles of their house wine (free with a promotion they offered during the winter.) Although the restaurant was busy, we were still able to speak with each other as there was plenty of space between tables.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Waterfront also viewed

 
New London, CT
New London, CT
 

Been to On the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.