We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Park

Ocean Beach Park
98 Neptune Avenue, New London, CT 06320
1-800-510-SAND(7263)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in New London
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
Attraction details
Westfield MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You could be alone, with family, or friends, and this place has it all. From a little amusement park for the kids, a café & bar to kick back at, and even a small arcade for the kids (or kid inside you). It was $20 to get in (parking fee & it doesn't matter the number of people in your car; Completely different set up for vans or busses) and once you get in make sure you have everything you want for the day with you; Otherwise you'll end up having to pay to get back in.
We went on the weekend, & there was plenty of space to stretch out on the beach with no issues. When I went swimming, I was shocked to have a school of very large stripped bass coming up to me in knee high water. I was informed by others in my vicinity that it is quite common here, & they like to eat crackers (& will right out of your hand).
As for the attractions, I can't speak for the amusement park since that had only child rides that I could see. But I can say that the mixed drinks & beer at the bar aren't a bad price. As for the food, it was very costly. A large fry was over $6 and was no larger than a medium at a McDonalds. From what I saw, you can bring in your own food & drink with no issue. Lastly, the arcade was great. Had a lot of the older arcade games in there (DDR, Pinball, Tekken, etc.) So it was a nice little nostalgic moment in there. Was a lot of fun, & I had no complaints.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    20
    9
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This beach has it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love this beach. It has the ocean, a pool, kiddie rides, a water slide, sprinklers for the kids and an inlet that leads to the wetlands that really is fun to catch crabs just remember to return them back. Take a tube to the inlet and it is like a small river. Only knee deep but lots of fun. The beach is clean and has great ice cream. Parking was about $15 but the beach was free. The kids paid $10 to get on the water slide. Without lines, they went over and over again. Even I had to try it. The smiles were worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great CT beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Living in CT for 10 years, I haven't visited many beaches as CT beaches didn't compare to the DE and Jersey beaches I knew growing up. I was very surprised visiting Ocean Beach as its got a great beach as well as a playground, rides and a small waterpark for kids. There's even a small boardwalk and food places and parking is close by. We had a great time and would def come back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Always a great time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been coming to Ocean Beach Park since I was a kid, and have always had a great time. The beach can get a little crowded near the entrance so I usually stay down towards the channel. If you like to snorkel this is a great place to do so. There is a small jetti that you can walk out on and on the other side is a small tidal area good for kids to explore; however children should be supervised as the current can be pretty strong in there, and as always don't take any of the animals out of their environment because they all play a key role!! If you go just beyond the jetti, there is a sort of cove area that is absolutely perfect to explore and snorkel around in. We saw everything from starfish, striped bass, seals, crabs even a small shark once. Definitely a great park. The beach is always kept very clean, and there are life guards on duty. There are little to no waves, which is good if you have kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ocean Beach is a place to bring the family and go back to often. There's a long, clean,beach with lifeguards. The sand is white and soft. The best sand around. The miniature golf is an old time golf course and lots of fun. There's a small arcade, but you'll want to be outside. The Olympic size pool is fabulous!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.