We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rating for honesty & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   707 Colman Street, I-95 at Frontage Road, Exit 82-A/83, New London, CT 06320-2605   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in New London
CLERMONT
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent rating for honesty & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

When I called to make a reservation the desk clerk advised me the hotel was in the process of renovation & described what was already completed & what was in the process. And that the room above ours was being worked on from noon to 4pm.
That was honest & acceptable to us. We appreciated the information.
The portion that was renovated was the flooring in our room. Loved it. Only under the bed was carpet. The rest was vinyl wood looking tile. How perfect from the front door to the bath area.
The location is absolutely lovely. The hotel is like being in a magical forest. Quiet & beautiful.
Close the both casinos, restaurants & tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    42
    14
    14
See reviews for
45
62
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel was conviently located right off the highway and secluded enough that the highway noise did not bother you. Rooms were clean and modern. Beds were not that great. Check in was fast and easy. Would definetly stay here again. Located close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Red Roof Inn "Mystic" of New London is a good buy, a quiet place to stay, clean and sensibly furnished. It offers the normal amenities of hotels of its type: small bathrooms with towels not too thick, plastic glasses, weak (though functional) internet service. But my hat is off to it for doing everything a hotel must do rather well and for a good price. The room was scrupulously clean, and refreshingly almost free of carpet. The floors have recently been covered with a wood laminate, and so all of the allergens and dust that carpets harbor are gone, gone, gone. The bed was very comfortable, and had excellent reading lights above the headboard, another great feature. The room included a well-designed desk. Although it is very near to Interstate 95, the rooms were very quiet. A very good package for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My fiance and I were looking for a place to stay close to mohegan sun for one night. We booked the red roof inn because it was cheaper than the other hotels and it is close to mohegan sun.
(10 minute drive) We were pleasanty surprised by the room. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy! Overall, had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Red Roof Inn is a somewhat typical motel, with all of the rooms opening onto outdoor hallways. The room was a decent size and the carpet and fixtures seemed recently replaced. Our bathroom and room were clean and the housekeeping staff were friendly and accommodating. The shower head was great, but the tub didn't drain well. I think the drains can't keep up with the new shower heads. The air conditioner worked well. They do allow pets, which we appreciated.

While the rooms are decidedly decent for a two star hotel, there were times when I felt a bit uneasy. For instance, when we arrived mid-day there was a man drinking and smoking in the middle of the parking lot. There was a couple next to him that were working on a motorcycle and continued to do so into the early evening, also drinking (though at least they tried to cover up the bottle labels with napkins). There was an unusual number of men hanging out around the parking lots in the evening and on the outdoor hallways. While I felt comfortable here, I'm not sure I would have had I been travelling alone.

Many of the staff here are great and are clearly trying hard, but some of the front desk staff were rude and/or it felt like you were interrupting their phone or text conversation if you needed something.

A mixed bag.....great room but iffy ambiance might be the way to sum it up. We paid about $70 a night. I wouldn't pay more for this room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We chose the Red Roof because we were concerned that lodging in Mystic would be harder to find and may require a two night minimum. The Red Roof allows a one night stay and one can cancel by 6pm on the day of check-in without incurring a penalty; this cancellation policy worked for us because my mother had a health issue that may have necessitated cancelling her room.

My husband and I were in one room and my mother was in the adjoining room; the connecting door worked well for us and we were happy that we were able to reserve these rooms. Both rooms had microwaves and refrigerators; room rate plus taxes/fees came to about $105.00 per room for a night's stay.

Our room had a handicapped accessible bathroom, so be aware that this type of bathroom's sink does not have a large countertop attached, unlike the traditional sink and counterspace that is outside of the bathroom with toilet and combination bathtub/shower. The shower adjusts between stationary nozzle and flexible hose and one can shower standing up or sitting down on the seat.

We noticed that there was a stale odor of cigarettes in our room and our door handle was not working properly, and were thankful that the front desk staff assured us that the manager will be informed; we did not want to have a cleaning fee on our bill.

All in all, quite adequate for a night's stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This appears to be either a new or recently renovated hotel with very clean and spacious rooms, large flat screen TV, and nice bathroom amenities. The front staff I had were young and anxious but are trying the best they can to learn the ropes. At $91 (tax included) for a Friday night, this was actually the best deal in the area when I was there. It would have been great to get this at some of the rates people list below, but it was still worth it compared to the other choices I had at last minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London

Address: 707 Colman Street, I-95 at Frontage Road, Exit 82-A/83, New London, CT 06320-2605
Location: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in New London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London Hotel New London
Red Roof Inn New London
New London Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.