We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far, I've not been made to feel welcome.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
monterey bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So far, I've not been made to feel welcome.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I am a solo woman traveling for business. I arrived around 10:30 am after flying a red-eye and driving from Boston to New Haven. I walked in and nicely asked the woman at the desk if I could possibly check in early. She immediately said no, we're full, we have had no check outs, and we have no rooms available. A room won't be available until about 3pm. I showed her my internet reservation form which says that check in time is 1300, and she said, well I'm sorry they haven't changed that on the internet, but there is our policy, and she pointed to a sign saying checkin was at 3pm. I said, but it says this on my form, can you at least honor having a room ready by 1pm? She said probably not and sent me away.
I sat in the lobby and made a phone call. About 15 minutes later, a MAN walked in and I heard him say, I know I'm early but is there any possibility of an early check in? She said oh yes, and expedited the process and handed him his key with a big smile. I went up to the desk right away, and she noticed me for the first time. She tried to tell me that only his room was ready and mine wasn't, and that's why he got his room. I, of course, argued this faulty logic and said, could you give me someone else's room who is not here and honor the fact that I am here? She pretended to hunt for a room, when there had been no problem when the fellow before had come in. Finally she gave me a room, curtly and crisply handed me the key and told me her name was Kelly.
I went up to my room. There was another clean room across the way with the door open as the maid had just finished. That room had a view of the water. My room across the hall has a view of the train yard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    65
    58
    57
See reviews for
99
41
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had booked a room with 2 beds. When we got there, the place was dirty and shabby. And I messure that by the the standardt of the average hotel (Howard Johnson, Hampton Inn). We were given our room and when we got there it was already occupied. The first thing on my mind was: Someone could walk in on us too. The people werent in their room (thank god). On the second try the less than professional staff gave us a room with only one bed. I called the front desk, and they offered us a second room for free. However at this point we decided to stay somewhere else. They gave us a refund without much ado. (that was very nice)
As to the rooms, they looked nicer on the photos and were about equal to a youth hostile.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

It was much easier than having to rent a car and paying parking fees. The shuttle was convenient. The hotel also had free wifi and breakfast. That said, you do get what you pay for. It was not luxurious, and it is a hotel that allows pets.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed here for a business meeting - single woman traveling alone. When I got to my room, the dead bolt would not lock, called front desk and he sent someone to cofirm the lock was broken. When I asked to switch rooms he said "isn't your husband here to protect you?" I switched to another room, and the same thing happened- the door would not fully lock! I could not believe the front desk gave me push back that the locks did nor work! He told me that one lock should have been enough for me to feel okay on my room!
Location and breakfast was great, bit without the free shuttle service, I would nor have stayed there, and will not stay there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Just off I-95, very easy to find. Would stay there again. Rooms were clean and staff was very efficient, continental breakfast was good. Only negative was that there were 3 of us and we had a queen suite which is a queen bed and sofa sleeper. Linens should have been provided for the sofa sleeper, we should not have had to ask for them. Also if you know 3 people are in the party, you should provide towels for 3 and not 2. Overall, was a good stay and would recommend. The Greek Olive restaurant is a great place to eat and is connected to La Quinta. Also Brazis italian restaurant is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We booked the hotel for only 1 night when traveling trough CT. The room was quite large and clean. The receptionist was friendly.
A good hotel for a stop-over because its close to the Interstate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

The Management is surly, the customer service is almost non existent, the shuttle service leaves you stranded, the main telephone number goes unanswered, and the bright side breakfast is a continental one at best. Simply put, this hotel is not a bargain by any stretch of the imagination. Spend more and have a pleasant stay elsewhere. The only positive thing I can say is that the free Wi-Fi was a plus and worked well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Address: 400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.