We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, remodeling superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    66
    51
    50
    44
See reviews for
81
30
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has a free shuttle bus and breakfast with a waffle maker. Nice staff and very comfy bed. Downtown New Haven is about a 15-20 minute walk. The train station is about 10 minute walk. Would definately stay here again. Great price and conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is somewhat older.. rooms are ok.. we stayed two times.. the shower didn't work well the first nite and was fixed by the next day. The breakfast was good and its great to have a restaurant attached. But the people made the difference. They made an effort to remember my name.. ANYTHING we asked they took care of.. shuttle to hospital was super! Never stayed anywhere that people were so nice. Worth the $$

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This isnt going to win any awards for amazing hotels to stay in, at least not in my book.

Room smells of old smoke, but appears to be fairly clean. Elevator and other finishes are worn, but everything is functional. Fitness center is a treadmill and elliptical machine, thats about it.

The price is good for the area, and if you are passing through and need a room for the night, its going to be OK. So if you set your expectations right, it shouldnt be an issue.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington,VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently had a retirement/60th birthday to attend in New Haven,CT of all places. Living in DC 5 hours away be train, I opted to take the train and find a hotel. The party was at BRAZI'S Italian in Long Wharf. I called Brazi's and they recommended the LQ right across the way. I booked and got a super AARP rate. The staff informed me to call for the shuttle, which I did. John the driver/maintenance man picked me up at the station and became my 'private' driver. He took me all over town. The hotel is a '80's former Holiday Inn and is in good shape, with rooms renovated recently. I agree with "Beds so Soft" that the bed was superb. Nice ergonomic chair at the desk too. The Breakfast was just my style with fruit, yogurt and cereal. Eggs were available too. The restaurant on property Greek Olive is a good option to going into town. Brazi's next door is good too. However, the shing star here is the value, staff and location. While seeming to be 'in the middle of no-where' it is NOT...it is a 10 minute walk over the Amtrak mainline into town. The green is about 15" from the hotel on foot and YALE is a bit further. I'd stay here again and have written the GM of the hotel and LaQuint HQ to thank them for the way they run the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the New Haven Bay. The other side of the property looks over the 'market'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this place, the rooms are always clean and well stocked with towels. The beds are so soft its like sleeping on a cloud, its located right off the high way so its not to hard to find and about 10mins from the downtown area, not too many dining options around but if you travel the 10mins you can find a few resturants that are not too bad either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Address: 400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.