We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz but for the money...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but for the money...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Recently stoppped here on the way to New York. The room was average, bed was comfortable. The tub area could stand to have the tiles replaced. A little moldy around the bottom tiles. Did not expect the Ritz for the price, so for what we paid it was suitable, we only stayed one night. Our room faced the Interstate but noise was not a problem (I brought ear plugs).

Room Tip: If concerned about noise ask for a room on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    65
    58
    57
See reviews for
99
41
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The housekeeping needs help! There was an opened 3/4 full can of beer sitting in window sill. The ice bucket had water in it with no bag. Not enough towels and bath cloths for the number of persons staying in the room and when I went down to the front desk and asked for more, I only got one bath towel. The condiment pkg for the coffee was opened and used. When reported to the F.D.M. he said he was glad I told him but no apology was given!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I just stayed here 3 days ago and am now breaking out. I chose this hotel because my train was delayed indefinitely due to flooding on the tracks. They shuttle to and from the train station so I didn't think I needed much more than that...boy was I wrong (scratch, scratch)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Do yourself a favor and bypass this dump. This hotel is dirty and not worth the money they are asking. There was nothing in our room that worked properly. Our tv wouldn't turn on because the batteries were dead. We called to the front lobby and they brought up a new remote but when we turned the tv on, the tv defaulted to the highest volume each time. The couch was dirty and uncomfortable and we had to call once again to get sheets for this pull out couch. The blow dryer didn't work nor the lamp. I wasn't expecting much when I stepped off the elevator to get to my room. It smelled like a wet dog and the carpet was dirty!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Close to a busy highway, building in poor conditions, this is our worse la Quinta ever. Tini work out room. Our tub would not empty. Breakfakst ok. Parking lot too small, We had 2 rooms and both were very noisy, with a bathroom in poor conditions and one tub not working, knowing that the hotel is noisy, reception could have warned us and proposed rooms in the back of the hotel! Hotel is close to new haven center of town and of practical access.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The common areas were very dirty. The pool was out back by the garbage cans...One elevator was broken. The room was ok. At least the sheets were clean but the carpet had not been vacuumed and the bathroom was extremely outdated with a tub that didn't drain. At night, the gas station next door is packed with suped up cars and is like something out of "The Fast and the Furious". Wouldn't stay there again....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antigonish
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had booked all hotels for our vacation using the discount web sites, so were therefore a little apprehensive as you don't actually know which hotel you are booked in until you pay and confirm. This Hotel was much better than the reviews gave it credit for. People have to realize that if they book at a discount hotel that is what to expect. The staff were extremely friendly during our stay, the breakfast was quite good, being included in the price. The rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable. The restaurant attached to the hotel was also very good. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler looking for an economical place to spend a comfortable night. Overall good value for the money !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Address: 400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Hotel New Haven
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Haven
La Quinta New Haven
New Haven La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.