We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, location and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Haven Hotel to your Saves list
New Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms, location and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is situated about as central as can be in New Haven, but still very easy to reach from the highway. The girl at reception was so very nice. I asked for a room with a nice view. She apologized and said that the rooms generally do not have good views because of the surrounding buildings. She pointed at a poster that showed a room with a nice view and said that was the only room with that view and that's why it was chosen for the picture. I told her no problem. You can imagine my surprise when we got to our room and had the exact view as the room on the poster. I thought that was so sweet of her.
The hotel is beautiful. It looks like it's just been renovated. For the price we payed, it was not expected. The room was huge and beautiful. Large bed, lounge area, large tv, large bathroom.
Parking in the garage across the street was very convenient as well.
On checkout the receptionist (a different one) was very friendly as well. In a genuine way.
From the hotel it's a short walk to the green. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. A cinema next to the hotel.
We enjoyed our short stay here very much, and I'd say this was the best price/quality ratio on our trip to the US this year.

Room Tip: High and on the 'right' side from the entrance. We could see the city, the highways, that pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    153
    48
    9
    17
See reviews for
87
87
40
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This weekend was my second stay at the new haven hotel. Both stays were very pleasant experiences. When we arrived from out of town we were able to check in early; room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Hotel was quiet at night. We were given a late check out when we asked for one with no extra cost or hassle. Parking is $23 for 24 hours in the hotel garage; we parked one block away at the temple street garage for $16. Wifi was free and worked without issue. Hotel is central to Yale and everything else in downtown new haven. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to this area in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at the New Haven hotel this past weekend. Our stay was great, room was clean and centrally located. Staff was easy to work with and nice. No bar in hotel however and parking was an extra $20 well worth it in a garage that was very secure. Would stay again if I were to be back in New Haven.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friendly staff greeting, comfortable clean room, secured garage parking at an additional expense and accommodating amenities for a one night stay.
One drawback that I had was, I went one on one with the in- room coffee machine in the morning and the coffee machine won and I lost. Went downstairs for coffee to go for myself and my wife and the coffee was pretty good. The hotel does offer a full breakfast buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, home fires, fruit, juice, toast, muffins, etc for $12.00 and for fruit, juice, coffee and cereal for half the charge and it was very good. No complaints, enjoyed the brief stay and would stay again if in the New Haven area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great service, clean rooms, great rates...and a great breakfast buffet!!!!!! Will definitely stay next time we're in New Haven! Walking distance to some very good restaurants and easy access off 95. Very close to Yale which is a beautiful campus to explore!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for two nights at this hotel back in May. We had a very pleasant stay and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Hotel staff were very professional, friendly and accommodating, from the front desk folks, engineering and housekeeping.

Lobby was quite elegant and very inviting, several flat screen TVs and seating areas. Apparently, the managers hold meet and greet receptions every now and then in the lobby with refreshments, etc. It was a very nice, well appreciated gesture.

The room was spacious and included all the standard amenities, including flat screen TV, free wifi, fridge, coffee machine and quality toiletries. There is a pantry downstairs, microwave and vending machines. Business center is accessible 24/7 with free use of laser printer.

The immediate vicinity of this hotel is dotted with several nice restaurants and cafes as well as a movie theater that featured independent films.

All in all, a faultless stay. Kudos to NH Hotel staff and management!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I booked two rooms at this hotel on hotels.com thinking I was reserving rooms at The Omni Hotel. I realized that I made the mistake when I called The Omni on the day of my stay to ask about early check in and they said I had no reservations there. Hotels.com informed me that I actually booked rooms at The New Haven. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised how nice the building was on the interior. Beautiful lobby and the front desk staff were quite friendly and professional. The only downside to our stay that I can think of was the $23 extra charge to park In the garage across the street. However, the garage was a locked secure garage and it's nice to have parking downtown. So it wasn't too bad after all. The room was very clean and well kept. The king size bed was comfortable and clean. Overall I really enjoyed the overnight stay and the price was decent for the quality.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Address: 229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.