We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible internet and customer service issues for otherwise decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Haven Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Haven Hotel to your Saves list
New Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
945 helpful votes 945 helpful votes
“Terrible internet and customer service issues for otherwise decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

New Haven is a place I visit for work on a regular basis, and so I decided to try the New Haven Hotel for my group of clients last week for the first time. Overall, it's a nice looking property with nice lobby, decently sized and appointed rooms, and good rates.

However, I must say that its wireless internet was atrocious, and the hotel's follow-up to the problem was pitiful--as was its FusionHotSpot service's customer service, which never called back and never solved the problem. Only on departure did someone finally admit they were having an issue based at the hotel.

We also had several customer service issues with the front desk staff. To put it mildly, these were not some of the brightest bulbs, or they didn't have great English speaking skills, or both. There was one woman who was great, but there were several who were clueless.

Overall, for the money, I'd still stick with the Courtyard Marriott--not as pretty, but they always have working internet and a decent room. The Omni is horribly overrated. If you can afford it, the Study is without question the nicest property in town. I am unlikely to return to the New Haven Hotel unless there is no other choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    152
    48
    9
    17
See reviews for
87
87
40
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location. Fantastic lobby - check out the amazing artwork by Tom Deininger as you check in. 5-6 wine and cheese - nice touch. Family and friends trying to reach me reported that the manager didn't remember the name of the hotel when he answered. Plus my message light never illuminated to let me know a friend had left a message. Most troubling for me, as someone who has allergies, was the copious amount of perfumed rug spray they routinely use. My nasal passages were burning! Although I switched rooms, it wasn't much better. Otherwise, it was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you're allergic to perfume, DON'T stay here!! Rugs are sprayed with perfumed solution. Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hotel in a snowstorm. The reception staff was professional and efficient. Lobby very large and well appointed. Check out the Harkness Hall art. The room was spotless and the bed was too too comfortable. We had a room on the 6th floor at the back. It was really quiet. The walk in shower was great too. Parking costs 18$ and is directly across the street. Covered parking on the second floor meant no shovelling and a stress free departure in the morning. Coffee maker was clean and the coffee tasty. The hotel is close to everything ( walking distance) and handy to exit the town. We will certainly return here next time we are in town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel centrally located in New Haven. A short walk to restaurants, bars, and the Yale campus. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved the wine "happy hour" in the lobby - they were not shy about filling your glass. The lobby was warm and inviting and possibly the nicest feature of the hotel. Rooms were sized well, bed was ridiculously comfortable. Parking in the garage across the street was fine ($18/night), with true 24/7 in-out access using your room key card. Very easy access from I-91/95.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times, and it is actually my favourite in New Haven. It is more like a boutique hotel that has been extensively renovated in past 2-3 years. Beautiful lobby with lots of seating alcoves , TVs, fireplace. Provides coffee in the lobby in the mornings, and a free wine reception with cheese and fruit at 5 PM everyday except Sun. Walking distance to Yale University as well as lots of good restaurants a couple of blocks away. Reasonably priced parking with in/out privileges in the covered garage directly across the street.

Beds are very comfortable. Free wifi is easier to access than most places. The only complaint I had on my last visit is that the lighting in the bathroom was fairly dim. Not sure if the fluorescent bulb may have been faulty.

Overall, great amenities, very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time in a year and I liked the New Haven hotel just as much this time. Large, luxurious rooms with really comfortable beds. Free wifi. Efficient staff. Recently renovated. The only drawback is the location that's a couple of blocks away from where you want to be. Never had any problems with security when walking back to the hotel past midnight.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is a great value. It has large, clean, quiet rooms, and is in a great location. The service was very nice and when we asked for some things to be sent to our room, they came straight away. All the staff we encountered were nice and helpful. You really can't ask for much more and especially at their prices. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Address: 229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.