We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Haven Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Haven Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Haven Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked a standard room for about 115$ and was really pleasantly surprised. The staff is very helpful, the hotel has been fully renovated and the room was absolutely amazing: spacious, clean, brand new furniture, great Queen-sized bed.
The location is good as it is within walking distance of Yale and many great bars and restaurants in the downtown area. However, the immediate vicinity of the hotel is a bit shady, but we still walked back to the hotel past midnight without any trouble.
Given the price, I think this hotel is amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    126
    42
    8
    17
See reviews for
73
72
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travelled to NH as a group of four ladies for the Yale Conmencement. The rooms are new, wifi signal was excellent! The snacks in the evening were a nice touch - I was addicted to the cupcakes. The room price was exorbitant, but it was the peak period, do it was to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brasil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is less 5 minutes by taxi from the train station. It has large rooms,so you can comfortably rest, even if you're staying in a standard room. It has a refrigerator, a safe, 42" flat screen TV and a great bathroom.I had such a pleasant stay. If you're hungry and don't want to go outside to buy food (which you can do at the Walgreens a few blocks away), there's a storage room where you can pick up food and pay later, when you check out. I recommend it for those who visit New Haven wether for vacation time or most likely, business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of a college tour for one of my daughters. The location is very convenient to Yale – about a 5 minute drive – and offers a handful of nice restaurants within walking distance. We had been on the road for a week or so when we got here, so the laundry facilities (very nice) were desperately needed.

My daughter didn’t really connect with Yale, so I doubt there will ever be a need for us to travel back to new Haven, but we would certainly stay here again if we’re in the area.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the top floor - worked out well for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to New Haven.

First the positives:

- Its in a great location. Easy walking distance to Yale, the medical center, and nearby bars/cafes.
- Rooms are big and very clean.
- The beds were very comfortable.

The not-so-positives:

The website for this hotel is somewhat misleading. It also talks about a convenience center that offers full size entrées and beer/wine for purchase. Umm.. It was a little room with a few vending machines offering pop tarts, M&Ms etc. Also, note that the on-site restaurant is just open for breakfast. These aren't huge deals given the neighborhood, but I was planning on working from my room and just eating in the hotel so it was annoying.

Also, the staff at the hotel was spotty. I guess what you would expect from (what I assume) were college students. When I checked in they were pretty disinterested and not very helpful although the staff there later in the day was very friendly and helpful.


Overall, I think this is a fine spot for a quick work trip or visit to campus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I arrived at midnight with a guaranteed reservation (the kind where my Amex gets charged whether or not I showed up). They did not have any rooms and in spite of my reservation for a recently renovated "Spacious Premier Room with King Bed" the arrogant desk clerk sent me to another hotel for their lowest category double room that was long overdue for renovation. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel prior to the current ownership, our stay now was excellent. The hotel looks good, the staff were friendly and helpful, parking was easy and secure, the room was clean and delightful, the bed was surprisingly comfortable. The room had everything we like -- coffee maker, safe in the room, hair dryer, etc, etc. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast twice -- good, fresh food with lots of variety; we invited friends twice.
Overall, truly excellent.

Room Tip: Very quiet in back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Hotel

Address: 229 George St., New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your New Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Haven Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.