We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Long Wharf Drive, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in Nov 2012 for an interview at Yale. The hotel is close to the train station and about 10 min to Yale hospital. Free shuttle was nice to have but was 45 min late picking me up. The hotel is a converted apartment complex. I was upgraded to a two bed, two bath, two story townhouse with a full kitchen and fireplace. Beds were very comfy, tons of room in the suite. Wifii available in the main house but only wired internet in the rooms. Breakfast buffet had a nice spread.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager96, General Manager at New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the delay you experienced with our shuttle service. We have a number of guests who stay at the hotel who are interviewing with the Yale Residency programs and the shuttle is in high demand over those periods. I apolgize for the inconvenience you experienced with the delay. The Premiere Hotel was originally built as a Residence Inn by Marriott and the name was changed to the Premiere Hotel in 2007. The property has always operated as a hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations while you were here. We are very pleased to advise our guests that we are in the process of upgrading our internet access to wireless service. The upgrade will complete within the next week so wireless access will be available throughout the property. Again, thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    58
    15
    17
See reviews for
111
52
23
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Front desk person was horrible. A good example that you shouldn't work with people if you don't like them. Outside wasn't properly maintained. Looked more like a Motel 8 feel than a "premiere" suite. Shuttle service very convenient but I'd look for other options should I come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We found the rooms to be large, comfortable, but dated, with a kitchen sink, dishwasher and stove. The bed was very comfortable. There is wired internet in the rooms. We noted the staff to be helpful and friendly. There's a helpful shuttle service which will take you and pick you up in New Haven. You would need a shuttle or car to get anywhere from this hotel and it's about a five minute drive to the New Haven union station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent a week in New Haven at the Premiere Hotel and Will stay there on the next trip. As they are a little bit away from the downtown area they are just off Hwy 95 and easy to find. Everyone was very friendly and great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is an awesome deal. They have shuttle services any where anytime and even a light dinner to make up for their somewhat off the track location. Literally, they are within walking distance from the New Haven Train Station but without a car, they are a bit away from downtown New Haven. This was just a great deal,comfortable clean updated room with a gas fireplace and a full kitchen in style....a sofa. Just off the wall great little place for the money, a better deal could not be had anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANAPOLIS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel matched the price-- I had a deal through Yale University for a lower price. I arrived late at night but was met considerately by the staff. The room was more of a suite with a full kitchen and free bag of popcorn along with standard coffee. The bed was very comfortable. The room was reasonably clean-- a couple hairs in the bathtub being the primary flaw I found. It was a fine location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is close to the train station too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here recently with a very small school party and we had two of the penthouse suites. The suites were extremely roomy with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a kitchen and living area. The beds were very comfortable and the internet was fast, although you are tied to an ethernet cable, which meant only one person could use it at a time. This would be a great apartment for families, but we were so busy that we barely made use of the kitchen facilities. The only thing I did was make a cup of tea, but although the kitchen is reasonably well equipped, there was no kettle. I was advised to use the coffee machine to boil water, but that seemed like a very inefficient method, (and as I don't drink coffee, I'm not particularly sure how those coffee machines work!) so I just put a saucepan of water on the stove.

The staff were friendly, especially Jose, the shuttle driver. As we did not have our own transport, we made ample use of the shuttle service and it was invaluable in getting us in and out of downtown New Haven. On the one occasion we were too late for the return shuttle, it was a $10 taxi ride back out to the hotel, so the shuttle is a great service for a hotel in this location.

I would definitely stay here again, especially if I was coming with my family. If they extend wifi to the suites and add a kettle, it would be a five star review!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites

Address: 3 Long Wharf Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Haven
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Haven
#4 Business Hotel in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere Hotel and Suites is a sparkling, family owned and operated, AAA Three Diamond rated, small independent New Haven hotel. The hotel's residential village-like setting offers recently renovated guest suites including a Gatehouse for gathering. The Studio Suites are 50% larger than a typical hotel room. The Premiere specializes in lodging for Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, business, government or family travel, employee relocations, temporary assignments or projects, emergency accommodations and a variety of medical lodging needs in the New Haven area. So what makes us Premiere? By offering so many first rate complimentary services, and true New England hospitality, we are pleased that our guests have "shouted-out" praises resulting in the hotel being ranked as one of New Haven’s best hotel values and "hidden gems". Our guests will never pay for Full Hot Buffet Daily Breakfast, offering enough to satisfy the hungriest travelers, light dinner from 5:30- 7:00 pm Monday through Thursday, parking, local area shuttle service, business center, WIFI (Gatehouse), fitness center, local calls, or our friendly daily housekeeping service. And the longer you stay the more you save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Haven Premiere Hotel New Haven
Premiere Hotel New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.