We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; greater staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New Haven at Yale to your Saves list
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place; greater staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Courtyard hotel is perfectly located for visiting New Haven and Yale. Its prices are moderate and it is perfectly maintained. Nice rooms, fast internet, great bar, good food including fast breakfast. BUT WHAT SETS THIS PLACE APART IS THE PEOPLE. I am not sure I have ever seen a staff more welcoming and helpful. Stumbling down for early breakfast, I was greeted by a woman asking if she could help, how the night had been, did I have any requests. Front desk is just as nice and the custodians must have taken cheerful lessons. Everyone is amazing. And it really makes a difference!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    118
    74
    24
    21
See reviews for
98
40
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A very nice atmosphere, you feel very good and you have very close a good Restaurants and Store. Wonderful walks to the University and Cafés. The Service is very effective and polite. I had a great experience.



  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They have big rooms, clean, good wifi, vendor machine in the floor, bar remain open until late, car parking is available ($18/day), helpful attendants. Expensive daily rate. Well conservated. Iron available. Expensive breakfast. Good location at YALE.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived fairly late at night for an overnight stay. Parking is $18 a night and the lot is very narrow. Check-in was easy and the staff was pleasant. Our room looked like it had been renovated farily recently. Furnishings were unblemished and attractive. The room was clean but somewhat narrow so the bed was placed facing the window and not, as is typical, the dresser, desk, tv and armoir. The bathroom was standard except for the fact that the triangular ceramic soap holders were missing but the grout/glue which held them was still in place. About 20 minutes after we checked in, the phone rang. Since it was after 11pm I would ordinarily have been concerned but absolutely nobody outside of me and my spouse knew what hotel we were staying at. It was the front desk, as I had expected. I was told that my credit card hadn't gone through and needed to be swiped again. This was the fault of the person at the front desk, not mine, although, of course, it was an honest mistake. I had pre-paid the room so I guess it is possible that I could have skipped out without paying for the parking but I didn't appreciate the call since I was already in my pjs and in bed. Couldn't a note have been slipped under my door? I explained that I was not dressed and would take care of the matter in the morning. The next morning, after check-out, my husband wanted coffee. There is a Starbucks in the hotel but off to the side, behind a door, there is free coffee that is not readily noticeable the way the Starbucks is. I assume this is not an accident. All in all, I had no real complaints about the hotel. However, I got this hotel at a discounted rate, If I had paid the full rate of $149 plus tax and parking, I would have expected a larger room and a few more amenities like a free continental breakfast, free bottled water in the room, etc..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here during the snow of February 2013. the hotel had unfortunately had a burst pipe flood to coincide with the 36" of snow outside. the staff coped well under extreme circumstances and were always polite and very helpful. the rooms are average, nothing luxurious, but fine for a business stay. a good location for Yale, a minutes walk to the centre of activities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in July 2012.
The staff at the reception was very polite. We even got upgraded to a bigger room as our category wasnt available anymore.
Room was big clean and quiet.
New Haven itself isn't the most exciting city but you can explore the campus very well while staying at this hotel. We recieved a map of the inner city while checking in. The campus can be explored by foot. No busses or taxis needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great staff, however as a typical Courtyard, very little amenities for its loyal elite members of Marriott Rewards, Even charge for a bottle of water. Is there little wonder why when given a choice the business traveler now chooses Hilton Garden Inn over Courtyards

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side, avoid street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard New Haven at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Address: 30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven at Yale 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard New Haven at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Haven At Yale Hotel New Haven
New Haven Courtyard
New Haven Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Haven at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.