We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude! Don't waste your time here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New Haven at Yale to your Saves list
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
New York City, New York
1 review
“Rude! Don't waste your time here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Will never stay here again, I advice you don't waste your time. Front desk slow, no clue as to what they are doing. I checked in and not even 2 hours later some man enters my room and says this the room he paid for. He had the card key and everything!!! SO NOT SAFE. Speaking of safe the neighborhood isn't safe AT ALL can't even walk at night. I ask to speak to a manager and he simply put me on the back burner. Front Desk agents just gave me the run around and excuse after excuse. Quick to give money but not quick to give service. Payed 179$ a night to hear traffic all night I will NEVER stay here again EVER!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay. Maybe New Haven Hotel or anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    123
    81
    28
    22
See reviews for
104
41
35
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here with a friend when we went to New Haven to visit the Yale Art Museum. We found our room to be very quiet, comfortable, and attractively decorated. Shower and bath was appropriate to a city hotel. Check in staff was very efficient, helpful and friendly.
Parking was $20/night which seemed a bit much but it was convenient and the hotel location was also convenient to much of the city.

Overall I would say we received good value for our "senior" rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really like Courtyard properties but this isn't their best offering. The lobby was nice and relaxing and looks like it had been recently updated. Check-in staff was great though they seemed a bit overwhelmed. This is a VERY busy hotel. The room was enormous but the bathroom was tiny. The room looked like it had been decorated 30 years ago. The bed and bedding was far from the comfort I have enjoyed at other Courtyards. Finally, the parking spots ($18) were so narrow, it is almost impossible to exit your car without your door hitting the car next to you. Expect to leave with a door ding or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Check-in was fine. Then downhill. Website said there was coffee in lobby and there was not. Oh yes, if you want to pay for it, it is available at limited hours. The room was nice and clean. On the second day, we got only one washcloth and it looked very old and grey instead of bright white. When we were leaving there was a car blocking us in the parking lot. There is not enough parking in the lot. We waited half hour for the car to be moved. The front desk staff was not helpful and seemed annoyed at us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The interior of the hotel met my expectations for a Courtyard - clean, comfortable and moderately spacious rooms. Check-in was bit slow because it was busy, but the front desk clerk was friendly and pleasant. The hotel is easy to find, on the border of the shopping district where Yale bookstore is located on one side and "rugged" options on the other. I had no problems with noise innthe hotel or outside. The worst part of the stay was the parking. It was awkward, confusing, inconvenient and there was a charge for it. The fee should be free, especially considering how much of a hassle it is for guests. An otherwise perfect stay was marred by this irritating experience in the first minutes of my stay.

Room Tip: Expect to pay for parking and to navigate an oddly designed parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here with a friend during a quick trip to New Haven. I didn't use most of the amenities at the hotel - I didn't use the shower or get any coffee or breakfast from the lobby. I left at 4am so the latter were not available at my departure. However the lobby of the hotel and the room were very nice, clean and modern. All staff were very pleasant, and they even gave my friend a toothbrush and toothpaste for free when she told them she had forgotten hers. My friend's parents stayed in a room on a different floor and reported an issue with the water where it was coming out of the tap brown, but the staff provided them with another room to shower in. The room was very nice, super quiet and the beds were comfortable. I only slept about 4 hours here before I had to go, but I was quite impressed. The parking garage is a little scary, as there is a narrow alley the width of one car for both people entering and exiting the garage. Plus parking was $20/night/car, which I always find ridiculous when you're already paying the hotel to stay there. Overall though I'd recommend this hotel to people visiting New Haven... I'd just suggest street parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the courtyard booking 3 nights for work, I checked out after 2 nights.
Main problem were:
• Shower was outdated and squeaked.
• Bath amenities seemed used (the Shampoo BTL had most of the writing on it warn off as if it has been refilled)
• Heating did not work in the room, I had to sleep with a sweater. I turned the wall control to 73 but the unit did not go on. I told the front office and they said someone will take a look but it did not happen - this is one of the reasons I checked out an evening early. Did not want to catch a cold.
• The coffee station is great but had no milk.
• Parking – the walk from the parking spot I had to the hotel did not feel safe, I had to go up and down 2 ramps with cars coming at me and no were to go.

The location is great and the staff seem nice enough but all the rest is not.

Room Tip: room 305 was facing the parking lot which was noisy and ugly and the heating did not work. Room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
0.6 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Study at Yale
The Study at Yale
#1 of 12 in New Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
New Haven Premiere Hotel and Suites
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.0 mi away
Days Inn New Haven
Days Inn New Haven
#8 of 12 in New Haven
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Haven at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Address: 30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven at Yale 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard New Haven at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Haven At Yale Hotel New Haven
New Haven Courtyard
New Haven Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Haven at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.