We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffee situation needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New Haven at Yale to your Saves list
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“coffee situation needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed one night here after we moved out of our New Haven apartment. The only coffee in the room is decaf. To get caffeinated coffee, you have to go down to the lobby, to a desk hidden in a back hallway by the exit to the parking garage. They really just want you to purchase the Starbucks coffee from the cafe in the lobby. I don't think you should have to go down to the lobby to get coffee first thing in the morning.

The toiletries in the bathroom seem extra small.

Free Wi-fi in the rooms. Great location for everything in downtown New Haven.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    72
    24
    21
See reviews for
97
40
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it's perfectly located for a visit to Yale. There are many wonderful restaurants conveniently located in the area around the hotel. The staff at this hotel are extraordinary (thank you, Nancy and Camille - you ladies are amazing!). We arrived after a long and tiring journey (flight cancellations, etc.) and had our son's football gear shipped directly to the hotel, rather than carry it with us on the plane. When we checked in, we didn't even have to ask for our son's equipment - when the front-desk clerk saw our name, she immediately got the gear for us and had already printed maps and directions for us to get from the hotel to the football facility, along with a list of places to eat, etc. (again, thank you, Nancy!!)

The hotel appears to have undergone some fairly recent updates in its decor - the appearance is pleasant and inviting. The room was clean and comfortable and everything was in working order. While it's not by any means the most upscale place I've ever stayed, I've never been to a hotel where I've been treated so well by all the staff - first-class customer service of this kind leaves a lasting impression.

We ate breakfast in the hotel - it was simple and tasty and the staff were as pleasant and attentive as those in the rest of the hotel.

The location is wonderful. We look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Yale.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week while at a conference and training at Yale. Everyone that works at this place has been obviously coached and hired, for great customer service. Any need we had, was met quickly and with care. Our room was nice, good view, good bed, nicely decorated, and clean. Housekeeping was very flexible and accomodating, and super friendly. The location is practically on the campus, and all necessities are easy to get to---within walking distance. High Marks for this Marriott! (wish they had microwaves in the rooms, and wish they had a pool)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside, off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srnhg, Manager at Courtyard New Haven at Yale, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for being our guests at the Courtyard by Marriott at Yale and writing such a great review.

Thank you for your words of praise regarding our staff members. We will be happy to share your thoughts with them. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms which feature free in-room high speed wired and wireless Internet, a comfortable sitting area, in room coffee service, and bathrooms finished in marble and granite. Amenities include a fitness center featuring LCD panel treadmills and cardiovascular equipment and our 24 hour business center.

Our lobby has been refreshed and redesigned creating a modern, sophisticated atmosphere with comfortable seating areas to sit and relax, work, eat, or drink if you choose. Media pods with individually controlled LCD TVs provide a sense of privacy yet in close proximity to our new Bistro where you can grab a bite to eat or a cool beverage to quench your thirst. Our home theater area comes complete with a large LCD TV with built in speakers and lounge seating, and a library area has been added offering a variety of hard cover books, novels, and local literature for your reading enjoyment. Visit our Go Board for latest information on weather, news, events and other local information including virtual earth maps.

The Courtyard is conveniently located near Yale University campus and is just steps from the area’s many quaint shops and numerous dining establishments.

We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard Marriot at Yale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I experienced a bed bug attack at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel on Monday, June 11th while attending the Women's Campaign School at Yale. I was sharing the room with two other classmates. They shared one large bed and I took the second one where I slept alone.

Suffice it to say, when we woke up in the morning we didn't realize we had been bitten. It was while in class that I asked one of my roommates if she felt any itching or irritation on her skin. She said she did but just thought it was a

mosquito bite on her ear. She went to ask the other roommate if she had any bites and sure enough, she said yes. We designated one of us to deal with the hotel. My entire right arm, hand, fingers, knee level on my right light, down the side of my right leg, my ankle and my foot were covered with long lines of bites. We reported it to the hotel management and also said that we'd contact the media and New Haven Health Dept if they didn't do something.

The hotel moved us to another room but refused to wash or dry clean our clothes. Meanwhile, the welts on my body started rising and are still present one week later. I am using calamine lotion and taking oral benadryl but the bites are lingering especially on my forearm and leg. My thumb has a straight line of bites leading up to the nailbed and my pinky finger also has the straight line.

My roommates bites have dissipated and mine have remained.

We surmised that since each of us slept near the edges of our respective beds, that the bedbugs had crawled up the sides of the mattresses on each bed and had devoured us during the night.

In our new room, we were comfortable and did not get any additional bites in the other room.

In summary, the hotel was NOT very accomodating in terms of cleaning our clothing. In fact, when we checked out and had to leave our luggage on hold while we completed our classes at Yale, they put our luggage in a separate holding room without an explanation.

They did comp the room for the week but the psychological impact of knowing that you were food for unwelcome bugs will remain in our minds. That is priceless.

Check your beds carefully when you check into this hotel and check your luggage when you leave to see if bedbugs may have attached themselves to your luggage.

Forgot to mention...on our first morning there, one of my roommate discovered an ant invasion near the window area. They were all in her shoes that were on the floor. She was terrified. I informed the hotel management about the ant invasion that very same morning. As she was walking to classes at Yale she felt ant bites in her shoes and had to rinse out the shoes to remove the remaining ants.

So...there were both ants in the room and bedbugs which must have been on the outer edges of each bed since all three of us were bitten on the sides of our body which were closest to the outer edges of the beds. What a horrible experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here using Marriott points as we were visiting Yale. Yale is a short walk from the hotel which is great. However, the hotel is at best average. Rooms were reasonably sized and queen beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean and not dated. Road noise including sirens and traffic was horrible. The next morning I saw that there was a 1/4 inch gap at the edge of the window that was not finished properly so maybe the other rooms were not as noisy as ours. I told them about it the next day and all I got was a free breakfast sandwhich. There is a Popeyes across the street and locals hang out there day and night. Front desk person when we checked in was extremely nice.

Apparently New Haven is not the nicest place so there are few nice hotels to choose from when visiting Yale. If you have the money, I recommend the Study!

Room Tip: Make sure the windows are sealed properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with an excellent location if your business is Yale-related. Most of the Yale residential colleges are within an easy 5-20 minute walk. The hotel rooms are on the smallish side but tastefully decorated and our king bed was comfortable. My major complaint is that the air conditioner is very loud. This will be good for many because the walls are thin and you will hear the snores of the guy next door. However, as an energy-saving feature, the air conditioner kicks on and off and the 'kick-on' feature is so loud that it wakes up light sleepers (like me) when it kicks on.

The hotel seemed to be short on staffed when we were there. How else do you explain that the custodial staff (friendly and cheerful folks, by the way) begin to vacuum the hall carpeting and clean the rooms at 7-8 a.m. even on weekends? They must have to start early to cover the eight floors by the end of their shift. The front desk was staffed by only one person even during peak check-in/out times. If the line got too long, a second office worker arrived.

The hotel has three levels of parking (one underground and difficult for even sedans to maneuver). These levels didn't seem quite enough during peak times of the year. The hotel was full because of Yale reunion weekend so we frequently had to drive around waiting for someone to pull out of a space. Guests were forced to create parking spaces where there were none making it even more difficult to maneuver the parking lots. We appreciated the attempt to provide guests complimentary water in the lobby during the afternoons, but when the hotel is full (as it was this weekend) the water runs out quickly and the jugs are not refilled (another sign of a limited and over-extended staff?) The hotel has a small bistro where you can buy a continental breakfast and sit at one of their tables, but we would recommend visiting one of the small restaurants/cafes near the university for a wider selection of food items.

We've stayed in many Courtyard Hotels and this one is comparable in amenities and comfort. We hope the management will address some of these issues to make it a more comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from Whalley street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here during my Yale reunion for two nights and it was a comfortable stay. Easy 5-minute walk to campus and stores. Impressed by the Paul Mitchell toiletries. Adequate fitness center and a lobby cafe that serves breakfast food and sandwiches/pizzas, not just coffee and pastries. We got a free upgrade to a suite because our room wasn't ready when we wanted to check in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Haven at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Address: 30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven at Yale 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard New Haven at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Haven At Yale Hotel New Haven
New Haven Courtyard
New Haven Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Haven at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.