We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oct. power outage refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New Haven at Yale to your Saves list
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
hartford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oct. power outage refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were lucky enough to get reservations when our power (hartford) went out. Our experience at hotel has been very good--on sixth floor, quiet room, clean (no funky hotel odor) decent bed--but the best thing--the shower! best water pressure ive ever experienced in hotel shower--and if you close the door and can stand hot water it starts to feel like a sauna! helpful after dry-hotel-heat-headache (but better than cold-dark-house-headache!)
only downside was "happy hour in lobby"-weak, small overpriced margarita and hummus dip that was also overpriced and awful--gritty, old-tasting.
next night had dinner at mexican place next to hotel--looks pretty seedy from outside but surprisingly pleasant inside--good food, nice staff.
Also, given the craziness of the influx of storm-outage-families trying to get rooms, the front staff were very helpful and sympathetic, and the housekeepers always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    72
    24
    21
See reviews for
97
40
32
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Marriott Courtyard has a great location right at Yale University. The Broadway Shopping District is right next to the hotel and I checked out the Yale Bookstore, new Apple Store, got some Yale memorabilia at Campus Customs and had a great lunch at Yorkside Pizza. The hotel staff was super friendly and I liked the new lobby which is much nicer then any of other Marriotts I have stayed in . The rooms are newly redone and have refrigerators and safes, both of which I like when I travel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

the courtyard new haven is kind of what you might conjure up in your mind when you think of staying at a hotel on a college campus. I like the energy of the young people coming and going, athletic teams, students, parents whatever....You don't know who you are siting next to in the lobby, which happens to be quite stylish, but it is a eclectic,vibrant mix. The hotel itself and quite comfortable and from what I can gleam from other reviews was recently redone. The area is college town. Yale book store, toad's place, apple store, au bon pain, etc...lots of shopping and eating options. i think it is the type of place that would appeal to most anyone..

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor near the lobby which was convenient to food options, the gym and busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

going to Yale then you cannot get better than this. Spotless, good staff, parking, shops, eateries, bars its all here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

the courtyard in new haven is basicly on the university campus. I was in new haven attending an athletic event that my son was participating in at the yale gym. It could not have been more convenient because the hotel is directly across the street from the gym. I did not have to move my car all weekend, because everything else that I wanted was right there too. Great restaurants, ice cream, coffee...The Yale bookstore which has a new apple store right inside it is next to the gym too. The hotel itself was just renovated and the lobby has a comfortable open plan with breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails available. There is plenty of space to spread out and chill out with a beer and watch sports or news or whatever on the many tv's. I went to El Amigo Felix, a restaurant next to the hotel and had some great mexican food and margaritas. Very authentic. The guest rooms were also very nice and also recently redone. I reccomend this hotel if you are visiting new haven and especially the yale campus. It really couldn't be more perfectly located.

Room Tip: there are nice views of the campus from the upper floors on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room/facilities are good. But the customer service was just unbelievably poor, esp. given the price and Marriott's overall reputation.
I requested 2 spoons to my room; after 10 mins, 2 wrapped fork/knife were sent. Well, I didn't bother to complain at all.
But after I checked out, things went worse. I realized the next day that I lost my bracelet, an important expensive gift, in the hotel lobby while checking out. I called the front desk and the staff answering my call said clearly and surely that she saw the bracelet on desk. She promised to check it for me but couldn't find it. She promised to call me back. It did not happen.
I called the following day again; the same thing happened. The staff I talked to said surely that she saw the bracelet and but could not locate it in the Lost&Found section. She promised to call me back. It did not happen. I was curious whether my bracelet was ever properly put and registered in the Lost&Found section in their hotel.
On Oct.19, I called again, and I waited on line for over 10 minutes, being transferred to different staff who obviously knew anything or were unable to do anything about it, except for keeping on telling me "please on hold" or "let me transfer you to someone" or "we will investigate into it, can we call back".
I lost my patience and confidence in the messiest hotel service and management . I just want back my bracelet but I am thrown into this endless bureaucracy and incompetence.
Overall, the hotel service was beyond my imagination - in a bad way. Even a small inn would carefully put lost items for their guests. What happened to Marriott New Haven????

Room Tip: if you travel with valuable items, you may not want to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to New Haven. It had recently been fully refurbished. The lobby is functional, comfortable, and stylish. A great place to chill out or meet (I did both). There are all day food options. The hotel is located in York Square, the Yale University shopping district. I was surprised how nice a selection of stores there was including the Yale Book Store and a newly built Apple Store. There were also all sorts of nice restaurants. The hotel was clean and the guestrooms had also just been redone and had everything I needed, Wifi etc...You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Haven at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven at Yale

Address: 30 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven at Yale 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard New Haven at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Haven At Yale Hotel New Haven
New Haven Marriott
New Haven Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Haven at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.