We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnam Guest House

Save Saved
You added Farnam Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnam Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   616 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Haven B&B and Inns
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This bed and breakfast is comfortable, very clean, environmentally friendly, and in a great location. There is a bit of street noise in some rooms, but worth being such a beautiful walk from the Yale campus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle1906Rose, Owner at Farnam Guest House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinions of Farnam Guest House. We enjoyed having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
17
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this lovely guesthouse just after new year. We were almost alone in the house and had the Farnan room. The room was excellent but the best was the atmosphere in the old house. We spent the evening in the living room playing boardgames and had a nice chat with the owner, Elizabeth, in the beautiful dining room at breakfast. Furniture, cutlery, paintings, photos, the piano, books, the boardgames, the Christmas decorations... Everything added to the nice atmosphere and made our short stay in New Haven to a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I visited Yale a few years ago and I have zero recollection of the hotel. This time, I opted to stay at the Farnam House, a beautiful 1930's colonial. I'll surely remember the lovely antique furnishings and elegant table setting! The place has the feel of visiting your well-to-do New England aunt. My room was fine and no one else ever seemed to use the shared bath, although there was at least one other person supposedly sharing it. There are even some baskets in the bathroom where you can keep your toothpaste, etc. -- a nice touch. Breakfast was generous and beautifully presented. Furthermore, the place is almost walking distance from the Yale campus, at that distance where it's a toss-up whether finding parking will take you longer than just walking. There's both wireless internet and a desktop computer in the parlor. Parking is convenient and right in front of the front door. Elizabeth is fairly low profile -- she has an employee who makes breakfast and seems to do most of everything. I wouldn't describe the place as cozy, but it was certainly elegant, authentic, worthwhile, and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were looking for downtown accommodations near City Hall & Yale and this was perfect, especially if you appreciate the charm of old houses. We had the Farnam room, which was lovely with a nicely renovated private bathroom. While the room faced the road, it was not a busy street later at night, so street noise wasn't an issue for us. While the house was full, other guests were considerate and the evenings were quiet. Our breakfast the first day was delicious. The second morning was not as good but still OK. Coffee was fresh and plentiful, and you could help yourself to evening beverages. We found Elizabeth very friendly and she offered great suggestions for restaurants, both of which we enjoyed. We arrived early and the entry system was a little tricky but once you figured it out, it was fine and we liked having the extra security. We would certainly return if we need to be in the downtown area.

Room Tip: There are rooms with shared baths, and private baths are a bit more expensive. Be sure to check
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dirty bathroom especially on the third floor. Greasy and gross kitchen. Dusty mirror and spider web in the bedroom. Street noise. Low speed internet. Cheap frozen breakfast and fruits from Costco. I stayed there for a couple of days and they did not even clean the room or change the sheets. The worst part is the innkeeper, Elizabeth, who was very rude and inconsiderate. She made me feel so unwelcome (and I paid a lot for it) Will not return.

If you plan to be in New Haven for more than 1 day, DO NOT stay at this place. Let me say it again. They will not clean or make your bed. Shared dirty bathroom and kitchen will be your worse nightmare. Trust me. It's not worth your money!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness. Even though they have laundry for you to use, it is never available, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very enjoyable stay!
After a rough start of having been sent the wrong door code and not being able to reach the owner, everything else was perfect.
We stayed in the Farnam room, facing Prospect street, which a previous review complained of the street noise, we had no problem, nice and quiet and we even had the windows open.
Great bed, nice accessories like the thick towels and quality shampoo and conditioners.
This was our type of B and B, with the owner not trying to tell us stories and history the whole visit.
Breakfast was good and simple we have gotten a bit tired of the huge servings and giant omlets.
Would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle1906Rose, Owner at Farnam Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! It sounds like you frequent B&Bs, so the fact that we were able to impress you is high praise — thanks again. We hope you can take some time away from Texas and come visit again!

All the best,
Elizabeth Baehr Lopez, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in a room facing Prospect St. and it was so very noisy all night long. Trucks and cars were stopping at the stop light all night long and it was VERY noisy. The internet barely worked and we could not sent our edited papers out. It was clean, and the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back yard if you want it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farnam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnam Guest House

Address: 616 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnam Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Farnam Guest House. Located on Prospect Hill, this elegant, remarkable mansion offers a gracious stay in New Haven’s Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Farnam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnam Guest House Hotel New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnam Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.