We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnam Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Farnam Guest House to your Saves list
Farnam Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   616 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Haven B&B and Inns
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very enjoyable stay!
After a rough start of having been sent the wrong door code and not being able to reach the owner, everything else was perfect.
We stayed in the Farnam room, facing Prospect street, which a previous review complained of the street noise, we had no problem, nice and quiet and we even had the windows open.
Great bed, nice accessories like the thick towels and quality shampoo and conditioners.
This was our type of B and B, with the owner not trying to tell us stories and history the whole visit.
Breakfast was good and simple we have gotten a bit tired of the huge servings and giant omlets.
Would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle1906Rose, Owner at Farnam Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for taking the time to post a review! It sounds like you frequent B&Bs, so the fact that we were able to impress you is high praise — thanks again. We hope you can take some time away from Texas and come visit again!

All the best,
Elizabeth Baehr Lopez, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
19
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were in a room facing Prospect St. and it was so very noisy all night long. Trucks and cars were stopping at the stop light all night long and it was VERY noisy. The internet barely worked and we could not sent our edited papers out. It was clean, and the breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back yard if you want it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the Douglas Orr room which was absolutely gorgeous. We found it to be very clean and the bed to be very comfy. The linens and pillow covers smelled amazing.

The breakfast was one of the best. My daughter had her first bacon there and loved it. The bacon was very crispy and the eggs were great. Elizabeth was very hospitable and it was lovely meeting her.

All in all a great place and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Douglas Orr room was very good and is located on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed in the shared bath bedroom at the top of the house. My biggest worry was getting my luggage up the stairs but they have an elevator. The room was clean and comfortable and the bath always spotless.

The Yale Shuttle, a free bus, stops at the corner and it was so easy to get downtown. The shuttle driver was most obliging and friendly to everyone. Yale is a real multi-cultural spot and he was responsive to everyone.

The guest house had wifi (very fast), and was clean, beautiful, and comfortable. The hostess, Elizabeth, was friendly and informative and very pleasant. Coffee was great and breakfast was good. My only suggestion would be to serve only fresh fruit in the fruit starter at breakfast -- forget the frozen fruit.

All in all, a very pleasant three day stay that was most comfortable and I would definitely stay there again. Beautiful yard, beautiful house, beautiful setting!

Room Tip: If you have a family, they have a great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My aunt and I got stuck overnight in New Haven and we decided to stay here (it was about a year ago). We had a lovely relaxing time! The room was attractive, and comfortable, and the hostess was very amiable. They even accommodated my kosher diet by allowing me to cook my own food on my own pots and pans in the kitchen during breakfast service! I hope to return really soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book online and save! I would have given a higher value rating if we hadn't just walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was our second stay at the Farnam Guest House and we can't say enough good things about the facilities. The accommodations were lovely and Elizabeth was welcoming and gracious. Breakfast was delicious. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer and hope to be able to return and stay for several days. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

If visiting NewHaven this is a fabulous place to stay. We found the B&B extremely clean and very comfortable. We were travelling with two small children and there was more than enough room in our bedroom and the large king size bed was very compfortable. The breakfast was over and above what you would expect at a B&B and the service was great. The owner was extremely helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farnam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnam Guest House

Address: 616 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Farnam Guest House. Located on Prospect Hill, this elegant, remarkable mansion offers a gracious stay in New Haven’s Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Farnam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnam Guest House Hotel New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnam Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.