We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar foor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant

Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant
188 1/2 Willow St, New Haven, CT 06511
(203) 773-9870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 500 Restaurants in New Haven
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great bar foor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good fresh foor and very good wings and beer. I stop here every few weeks for lunch and the Milford location on the weekends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
�G|ϗϨ�
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Still hands down the best wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to other Archie's but the one on willow street is the best of the group. Every wing is heaven on earth. Certainly they rank as the top wing place in the US. It is also a great early American Irish bar

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mediocre at best. The food did not taste freshly cooked. Also it is in need of a remodel. I wish I could be more positive, but the management needs improvement.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A nice restaurant - bar with a young, energetic vibe. Somewhat on the noisy side, but that only adds to the ambiance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect down to the fries and pickle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a visit to the neighborhood, we were looking for a pub-like place that served a decent burger. I found this place on my mobile Foursquare app. We arrived on a Sunday at opening bell.

Because my husband and I aren't big eaters or big portion eaters, I should say, we decided to split an order of Paul's Steak and Cheese. It arrived promptly on two places, nicely cut in half with a generous mound of fries and a whole pickle on each. Now that is customer service.

The fries were done so well, there was a very distinct crunch on the bite that led to a tasty softness inside. And lightly salted, too. The pickle was crunchy and fresh and came in handy for toning down the bite of the hot peppers on the sandwich. It was like a little game: hot, cool, hot, cool. Fun! The sandwich was delicious with tender beef and grilled onion and cheese on a really great roll.

The atmosphere was friendly (we sat at the bar) with the bartender conversing with all of us (4 total) seated there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archie Moore's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.