We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop=over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn New Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn New Haven to your Saves list
Days Inn New Haven
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Foxon Boulevard, New Haven, CT 06513   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
baltomore
1 review
“stop=over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great place for the price
friendly staff willing to due whatever is needed to please us

we arrived late at night

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    27
    22
    43
See reviews for
49
38
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe it was my luck but I had no problems at reception, the young lady was friendly and
helpful, Cannot complain about the room everything appeared to be clean and polished.
Breakfast area was not the biggest but all the usual offerings were available.
Only downside is that there are no restaurants in immediate vicinity only fast food, next
exit up I.91 has restaurants (North Haven) which I found thanks to reception.

Room Tip: On main road so rooms at the back would probably be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm review. I will make sure to pass it along to our night agent. She has been with us for almost 20 years. Yes, you are right our breakfast area is a little small but soon we will be in the process of remodeling, I do hope you come back and check us out again after the process is done.


Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time to stay at this hotel. The front desk customer service is the worst in my all hotel experiences during the past 10 years. She just looked down upon us as the cheapgate, and would not like to provide any help we asked. When I asked if I can contact the manager, her response was "The manager is on vocation". What a jerk!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
I am assuming the other review was also made from you, I was on vacation and no manager is going to come into handle a little minor issue like this late at night. You could of spoken to our assistant manager in the morning if you wanted to. When I did return from my work related conference vacation, I did send out an email to you to resolve this, which could of been a discount or etc, however you never responded back with your side. I did speak to our night agent and she had no issue renting a room to you, however we do not allow minors to stay in a room without an adult. Many hotels have their own rules but majority of them follow this rule. She was looking out for your best interest.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The concierge was not helpful when we requested room service and refused to give me any utensils to eat breakfast with because he had already put them away and didn't feel like getting them back out (breakfast ended at 10am and I asked for a spoon at 9:55). Also the hotel reeked of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, March 22, 2015
Dear Guest,
Our breakfast time is from 7am until 10 a.m, we have no issues of providing guest with breakfast even after breakfast hours are over, we understand sometimes guest run few minutes late. Also if you had asked any one working or even the housekeeper cleaning up the breakfast area we would of gladly provided you with spoons etc. We have may guest who order take out and we provide them with plates, napkins and etc with no cost. We would of even pointed out where we store them so you could of got them on your one.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last night with our children. The whole building smelled like marijuana. The room next to ours was very obviously smoking marijuana because there was a common door in our room and the smoke was comong through. We complained to management and requested another room because we didn't want our children exposed to marijuana smoke. He refused to give us another room and wouldn't refund our money. There were stains on the mattresses that looked like blood, we were all itching all night, and no one was able to sleep. The next morning, the smell of marijuana filled our room as well as the hallway again. We were visiting from NC and were going to stay 2 nights, but thankfully, we only booked 1 night to see what the hotel was like first. When we talked to the manager the next day, he said he's not responsible for what other guests do in the hotel and if we wanted better, to stay at the Hyatt or Marriott. I couldn't believe he actually said that. He was very rude and had a terrible attitude. We normally do stay at nicer hotels, but due to a family emergency, this trip was planned at the last minute and we chose this hotel because it was the closest to our destination. Never again! I will definitely be sure to do research before booking another hotel. This was the worst experience of my life and that staff should be ashamed of themselves. That guy was heartless!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, March 22, 2015
Dear Guest,

I personally checked our log book and no such complains were made by you or anyone in your party. You need to understand this is an economy chain hotel, we provide smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms. In the future I suggest you make a reservation for a non-smoking room so your room is next to the non-smoking area. That night we we were sold out and you were the only guest who complained and were really rude about it in the morning. Your complain then changed to safety of the hotel if the hotel was unsafe and not to your expectation why stay the night? Why didn't you just leave? Not only did you stay the whole night but you took breakfast upstairs and checked out at normal time. A normal person would of checked out asap then fought with their credit card company to get a refund. Also when you made a scene in the lobby their was an older lady who even came up to the front desk and said I don't know what they talking about I am 2 rooms away from them and I been going up and down all night cause I couldn't sleep and not once did I smell anything bad and I been coming here for many years and will continue to come. To me this just looks like lets stay the whole night and following night make up excuses to get our money back.

In the future be smart and make a reservation for a non-smoking room not a smoking room.

Thank You,
Nirav Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Haven

Address: 270 Foxon Boulevard, New Haven, CT 06513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Haven Hotel New Haven
New Haven Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.