We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fo the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn New Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn New Haven to your Saves list
Days Inn New Haven
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Foxon Boulevard, New Haven, CT 06513   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    26
    20
    35
See reviews for
45
34
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Woke up after my first night here and discovered little red bumps on my upper body. I recall reading a review for this hotel from over a year ago stating that it had bed bugs. Apparently they were not dealt with. After inspecting the beds, I also found many stains. When explaining my situation to the front desk employee, she made no attempt to apologize. Instead she was apathetic towards the situation. The hallway smelled funky, and the cleaning maids had all of their supplies situated right in the middle of the hallway, making it impossible to get by when carrying a bag. Also, my room key card completely stopped functioning after the first night. Do yourself a favor; spend a few extra dollars for a half way decent hotel, and do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Clean room, bed was comfy, bathroom had shampoos, lotions, plenty of towels. Breakfast consisted of bagels, English muffins, doughnuts, coffee, orange juice, apple juice. Not a luxury hotel or anything but a nice place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I booked last minute and understood I was getting a smoking room, so I expected that, but the hallways smelled like smoke too, the bed spreads were worn and one was torn, there was no TV channel guide, which is annoying when you don't know the channels and the bathroom fan was increadibly loud. The desk chair was not in good shape either

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is about an 8-10 minute drive from Yale, which is around a 15 dollar cab ride away. There's a bus stop for public transit within walking distance, but it's in a neighborhood where I wouldn't walk around alone at night. Or rather, you shouldn't, because I did and after doing so I'd say it's not a great idea.

The hotel itself is staffed by uninterested, unmotivated people who are not particularly knowledgeable about the area or helpful with...much of anything. The area that separates the lobby and the actual rooms is not locked or anything, though it seems like it ought to be. The hallways are well lit and reek of cigarette smoke despite many signs that say "no smoking." The building is old, but not falling apart. I rented a single on the second floor. I can hear everything in the rooms around me and in the hallway, which has been...interesting. The bed is lumpy, but with the king size bed at least they gave me five little pillows, which is fine for one person alone. The lighting in the rooms is poor. The shower is easy to operate and of a normal size, but the bathroom is, again, poorly lit. The internet in the rooms is easy to access and works fairly well, but it's advertised as high speed and I think that's giving it a little too much credit.

Hilariously, I wanted to get a wakeup call and picked up the receiver on the phone in my room to call the office. However, no dial tone. I hang it up, and try again. No dial tone! On inspecting the phone further, I find that it is neither plugged into a phone jack nor a power source. On inspecting the rooms further, I find that there does not appear to be any sort of phone jack present that I can find. Thus, no wakeup call. No way to schedule a cab for pickup the next morning. No phone calls, no calls between rooms, nothing.

Halfway through my stay, my keycard to my room stopped working. This was apparently such a common occurrence that the person at the front desk didn't even need my prompting when I showed up with my key in hand.

Also, I am quite confident there is a drag race going on outside based on all the noise.

This hotel is a good pick if you are meeting a particularly classy Craigslist hookup, or you just really like Wal-Mart (it's next door). Some people seem to enjoy smoking in their nonsmoking rooms and watching what sounds like wrestling matches. If you stay here, don't try to eat the breakfast.

Room Tip: The best room is at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirav p, Manager at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry for the few minor issues you had during your stay. However none of these issues were brought to the front desk attention, if they were we would of been more then happy to address them.
The phone jack and alarm clock in the room were checked by our housekeeping staff and everything seem to be working fine! As for the Wi-Fi yes, its not going to be as fast as a home Wi-Fi but its faster then what you will receive at many other hotels and its free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Haven

Address: 270 Foxon Boulevard, New Haven, CT 06513
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Haven Hotel New Haven
New Haven Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn New Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.