We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soul de Cuba

Soul de Cuba
283 Crown St, New Haven, CT 06511-6611
203-498-2822
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 502 Restaurants in New Haven
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

So Im not sure if I didnt enjoy the food because I was prego or because it was just blah food. I ordered my meal with platanos n they didnt have any more left. You can imagine being very prego how disappointed I was about that and it was early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tristate NYC area
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This cozy place attempts an authentic Cuban atmosphere with photos of the owners family, traditional music playing etc. The menu is on the small size and a bit Americanized ( tofu used, for example). We wish there were more traditional dishes offered. The waitress brought us the wrong entrée so offered us a free coffee.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GREAT drinks, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

First of all this place is TINY, but it had a nice vibe. The waitress was friendly and polite. The food was just okay to me though especially for the prices. $18 for fried boneless chicken with mole sauce and rice and beans. The chicken was good but my rice was super dry and kind of hard. My friend ordered the pernil-like pulled pork dish and it was also good but again this was like a $20 dish.
However I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the house Sangria and the Rum Punch ($9); Both ridiculously tasty and the rum punch will def get the job done if you're lookin to get loopy. I will go back but probably just sit at the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

A tiny little restaurant just a block or two from Yale Rep and the museums, Soul de Cuba wrapped us in its warm embrace on a chilly evening. I'm glad we read other reviews here and made reservation (a must, as this place has just 8 or so tables). The service was efficient and charming, and the food was beyond delicious. Three of us shared two appetizer plates, the empanadas and the Soul Sampler. For main dishes, two of us had fish (my salmon was so good I can't wait to try and replicate the recipe at home), and the other had oxtails, which melted in your mouth. We split a tres leches for dessert with some cafe Cubano. The music, art, general vibe was happy, and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we were. We went early (6 p.m.), and there was nobody waiting, though every seat was filled. We'd go again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My Favorite - Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place is a small, cozy, and easily a romantic's dream. I always order the oxtail dinner; rabo encendido, phenomenal. Empanadas, bistec palomilla, lechon asado to name my next favs. The cocktails are delish, This is pricy, but I must say- well worth it. I recommend make resverations for Fri. & Sat. evening, as there are only 7-8 tables. The bar area is a bit cramped, but fine for waiting for somewhere to be seated. The food comes out fresh, hot, timely, and the staff are knowledgeable about the menu; a plus for me...I can tell people how irritating it is to ask someone about the menu, someone who works there, and they don't know it! The atmosphere, lighting and music add charm and soul to this spot. Again, my favorite restaurant in the state of CT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soul de Cuba also viewed

 

Been to Soul de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soul de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.