We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great contemporary hotel overlooking Yale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Study at Yale to your Saves list
The Study at Yale
1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great contemporary hotel overlooking Yale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was quite a find in New Haven. Unexpected sophistication. Clean and contemporary design. Warm atmosphere. Complementary morning coffee in the lobby, where cosy couches and reading materials await. Had dinner and breakfast, both of which were excellent. Comfy beds and bright rooms.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Yale campus worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    130
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
159
105
33
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our car was valet parked and we were checked in to room 511. The room was gorgeous, with light decor, big windows overlooking Yale, large desks under the windows, a big bed, two comfy leather chairs with footstools and an iPad, but no fridge or minibar and no coffee machine (coffee is offered in the lobby in the mornings). WiFi good and free. The bathroom was small with just a shower, no bath.
We ate in Heirloom: the service was good and we were given a nice table by the window. The starters of chicken liver pâté with bacon jam and iceberg salad were both very good. the main course chicken was good, but with a very strong lemon flavour. With drinks, it cost $125 including tip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel. Rooms are big with very comfortable beds. I love the huge desk. Breakfast is great. I strongly recommend their homemade granola. The food in the restaurant is excellent.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stopped in new haven on our way to mystic and then onward to other beautiful places this part of the east coast has to offer in abundance.... To cut the long story short: it's a fancy dorm for the students' parents. It's about nothing else. It's all families who have someone there they came to visit ....There's nothing wrong about it, just know it..! It's not for young kids nor teenagers. The restaurant closes pretty early and we could not sit anywhere to get something to eat since it was served by " the bar"( not drinks, not on high chairs behind the bar, mind you... Just a bite to eat later then 22:30 pm).... Strange...! The Main Street ( chapel street) was deserted, and we opted for Indian instead...good choice by the way..!
The study is fine and detail oriented and stylish in a very nominalistic way, and probably the only choice in the area in its ( ivy) league, if you want to visit the Yake area , which is great by the way... They have a valet service but they we didn't have anyone helping us with the language into the hotel, and they have stairs to get there which was a major bummer..! Not only that, when we brought the suitcases inside since no bell boy was in sight, we asked how come there is not help, the girl at the reception says, and I'm quoting " oh I didn't think u needed help, most people like to take their own"... Making me feel like a spoiled brat...when I sulked ( as in insisting without saying much) she sent one of the other reception guys to help. As if a real boy is not really employed. Bizarre.. And most definitely snooooooooobish!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I recently read an article where the author made a distinction between service and hospitality. Our recent stay at The Study at Yale was an opportunity to experience that difference. Everyone from the valet who took our car, the front desk folks, the maid who brought up the extra pillow (in record time, I might add), and the bartender and server for our drinks and dinner at Heirloom ( an experience NOT to be missed,) all delivered the highest quality of hospitality, as opposed to mere good service. Can't wait for another visit to New Haven to do it all over again at the Study!

Room Tip: You want to face the Yale campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virgina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything is excellent about this boutique hotel, but the service is unmatched. Our room had an amazing view of the Yale campus...I loved to just stare out the window as the sun set. The door staff, the valet parking staff, the front desk staff, the room service staff -- everyone seemed to be there only to serve me personally. I never felt like they were dismissing me or rushing me and they anticipated my needs before I even asked. I really can't say enough good things about the way that my son and I were treated on our stay there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 6th floor overlooking the Yale campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at The Study for two nights from the 21st to the 23rd of July. We were visiting the Yale campus for a campus tour with our sons.

The Study is a wonderful example of how to run a small boutique hotel with pride, efficiency and a personal touch. The rooms lack for nothing - try and get a room with a view of Yale. We had two interconnecting rooms - a king and a double - with lovely views of Yale. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathroom while small, had everything one could want. The hotel restaurant has excellent food and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast there on both mornings. In terms of location, it is smack in the heart of Yale and you would be hard pressed to find as lovely an alternative anywhere else in New Haven. Service is excellent, from the staff at the reception (who were only too happy to help in any way), to the restaurant staff to the room cleaning - excellent, friendly and helpful service all round. Thoughtful touches were apparent all round the hotel, from the free tea and coffee in the lounge, to the computer with printer placed strategically in the lounge for the use of guests. The entire ambience is so pleasant. We have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and the Study can give any one of them a run for their money just in terms of how much they make their guests feel welcome and at home. Full marks to this gem of a hotel. Any subsequent visit to Yale will certainly see us back at The Study again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Yale
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Study at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.