We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in New Haven, although rests on its laurels a bit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Study at Yale to your Saves list
The Study at Yale
1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in New Haven, although rests on its laurels a bit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were so excited to stay at the Study for our 10 year Yale reunion in May, 2013, that we booked at the first possible moment in November, 2012. I was more than a little bit upset when I got a call from the Study less than a week until reunion, stating that they had overbooked and would be putting up some of their guests in the Omni instead. I fought back, because the Study is by far the best place to stay in New Haven if you're going to visit Yale. It has the best location, great restaurant and lounge, and very comfortable rooms. After a lot of back and forth (including reminding the Study that we had booked the hotel for our wedding events blocking off a large portion of the rooms 2 years prior) our reservation at the Study was honored. Our visit was pretty good--the rooms were as restful as we remembered, and the restaurant, Heirloom, makes a great brunch. Unfortunately, as we checked out, I was surprised when I was told by the car valet that our car battery had died and they had jumped our car, but they told me that "it wasn't their fault, because they check the cars often in the lot." Unfortunately, as I was driving, I realized that they had left my parking lights on, and despite their insistence and the high charge for valeting the car, it was indeed due to their carelessness. We will definitely return to the Study, but perhaps next time, I'll consider parking elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    130
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
159
105
33
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns NFLD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a wonderful experience! The room was comfortable, clean with a great view (we had a suite).
We were very impressed on how well appointed the suite was, nice surprise!
Staff were very accommodating. My husband and I enjoyed a nice light supper in Heirloom restaurant conveniently located in the lobby of hotel, I have never had such large shrimp.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

let's face it some towns just don't have 4 & 5 star hotels... but the Study at Yale is very clean, pleasantly decorated, has an excellent location, helpful and courteous staff, and a wonderful breakfast.... also a happening bar in the evening..... did not have dinner or lunch but if it is as good as breakfast, then its darned good.... I will always stay here when visiting New Haven unless someone puts in a 4 seasons or Ritz....:). Well done Study at Yale.... thank you! p.s. rightly priced:)

Room Tip: high floor if you cherish a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was very relaxing and inviting. The beds were incredibly comfortable and offered a very restful night. Our favorite perk was ordering a book to our room. We also enjoyed the shops and restaurants nearby. What a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

... I prefer the competition.
I stayed here as the host of conference that I organized and still had to pay for valet parking. The Conference was ok catered, with standard food of hotels and usual selection of drinks. Quality was acceptable and service for technical issues was thorough, if a little on the slow side.

Rooms are spacious and well equipped, beds get an 'ok' grade from me, only. The one thing that Stuck to my memory was that instead of ball pens they had pencils in the room (conclude what you will from that)....
The restaurant is more of a cursiosity for the menu, if a recommendation. The menu is small, which might speak to the freshness and individualtiy of the food, but for a hotel in this category I expect the standard fare in addition to the fancy dishes. Portions are european, with a luxury US price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The first night I sank into one of the most comfortable beds in ages. Slept great! Nice shades that block out light. Quiet, clean and the "study" atmosphere in the lobby and rooms, made one want to read and relax without the TV or electronics. Nice view of Yale from 719. Great cookies ordered up from the restaurant. Delicious room service breakfast of eggs, bacon, etc with free coffee downstairs. Oatmeal and pancakes good too. Pleasant, soft-spoken staff. Easy valet parking.

Room Tip: 719 was high up enough and on side of building with campus view. Saw West Rock but not East Rock. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Love this boutique hotel. Stayed for a night and would never try anywhere else in New Haven. Rooms were spacious, clean, and relaxing. The leather chairs and desk facing the window are awesome, comfy touches. Bed was super comfortable and the location was within walking distance to multiple coffee shops and right across the street from a cool looking Thai place with buffet (!!).

Check in was easy and the front desk staff was great at calling a cab and following up when the cabs didn't come on time. Cucumber water at the front desk was a nice touch, as were the ginger snaps.

Only negative was the restaurant- staff was hard to find in the morning and food and service were mediocre and slow. I'd skip this entirely next time and go instead for a quick coffee in the lobby or, better yet, take a nice walk to Blue Bottle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Study at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.