We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Study at Yale

Save Saved
You added The Study at Yale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Study at Yale
1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Study is one of my all time favorite hotels. The staff are wonderful, including the desk personnel, the valet parkers, and the cleaning staff. The rooms are well appointed with free Wi-Fi and wonderful work spaces. Free coffee and newspapers in the morning. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    106
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
125
94
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaplin, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We love this hotel. The rooms are clean, simple, elegantly modern. We live in Connecticut and have come here twice to enjoy the nearby Yale University Gallery of Art, which is a destination in itself. The Yale Rep and Union League Cafe, two other worthy attractions, are in easy walking distance, not to mention the Yale campus. We also had dinner and breakfast at the Heritage restaurant and thought both were very good. We haven't stayed overnight in NH in the past because there weren't very appealing hotels, but The Study solved that problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the campus. Rooms seem to have standard queen size beds so if you require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was put up here when I had to give a talk at Yale, and it was just lovely. The accent is on modernist simplicity, and everything was in exquisite taste, from the marble tiling in the bathroom, to the pale wood furniture, to the saturated colors of the photos of the university they had on the walls on my floor. We ate at the restaurant the night I was there, and the food was very, very good. Also, it was reasonably priced, immaculately clean and quiet and comfortable. For the money, I would say this is the best place I've stayed in a very long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful welcoming hotel, great ambiance. A few things could be improved -- in particular that the gym equipment was limited (didn't work well and there was a line b/c only a couple machines), and that we didn't like the restaurant (very slow service, food wasn't very good and particularly not for the price). But the hotel is a real winner on design, comfort, and location. I'll book again if returning to New Haven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We used the valet parking lot underneath the hotel and didn't need to fetch the car once it was parked. Easy walk to Yale, the restaurant/ bar area of New Haven, and the Hospitals. The room was immaculate. Really good Internet service- both wired and WiFi- and the price to use it was perfect (free). We truly hate having to cough up extra money for Internet at nice Hotels when nearly every cheap roadside chain offers it for free now. The bed was comfy, with top quality linens. Excellent modern shower. Free NY Times and excellent reading material in the lobby, along with free coffee in the morning. Staff were friendly and attentive. We'll definitely stay here every time we're out to visit our daughter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I would choose this hotel because of its style, uniqueness and friendliness of staff. Nice artwork. Good bar/restaurant. Rooms clean and well maintained. This is much better than staying at a big chain hotel. Nothing is cookie cutter here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Study is an ideal place to stay when visiting Yale with a prospective undergraduate. First, the hotel is inviting, modern and comfortable. In keeping with its academic surroundings, it has an inviting lobby filled with books that make for a wonderful environment for chatting and reading. Rooms and good sized and well appointed. I don't think there is a more conveniently located hotel because the Study is a short walk to the Yale undergraduate admissions office and also happens to be across the street from a great sandwich shop (Book Trade Cafe).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Haven
#1 Business Hotel in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Study at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.