We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Absolute Best - other hotels.... take a look” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Study at Yale to your Saves list
The Study at Yale
1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best - other hotels.... take a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We travel a great deal and we were very impressed with this modern hotel . The rooms were simple and well appointed, beds comfy, it was clean and fresh. The staff were all amazing. They are a true example of great customer service. They wanted to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. And they did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    124
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
150
101
33
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at The Study on a recent Saturday evening, and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is smart! It is beautifully designed and decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and accommodating. We were in New Haven to visit the Yale Art Gallery, and the hotel's location near the museum is superb. Our room was on the top floor facing the back ... The view was great and the room was totally quiet, although I believe the hotel was fully booked. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here on business at the recommendation of a business partner. Did my own research and there seemed to be pretty limited options. Room was a little pricey but worth it.
Location was very convenient to Yale and to the downtown businesses.

Definitely a boutique hotel, for both good and bad, reminds me of what you find in Europe.
Lobby is very nice, sleek look with a lot of places to read and sit but with a small reception counter. Staff was young, friendly and efficient at check in.

Double room was a nice size and was very comfortable to work in, which was what I was looking for. Wireless service was included and very fast.

If I stayed again I would avoid a room on Chapel street. Nice views during the day and the blinds are amazing to block out the light, but a little noisy at night.

Restaurant and bar were very crowded. Only had a drink, bartenders very friendly.
Gym was very small.

Generally, it met my expectations and I would return if I am in the area again.

Room Tip: Chapel Street rooms are noisy, I would ask for something else next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stay here every time I am in New Haven and am fairly sure this is the best option. It is a cute boutique hotel with pretty much everything you need. Rooms are clean and the lobby is great, it is also in an excellent location. Only down side is you can hear lots of doors opening and closing in the hallway and can at times hear the people above you. Rooms at end of the hallways are best for less noise. House cleaning is loud too. Other than noise issues an excellent spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This small hotel, recently remodeled, has beautifully designed rooms, with a long desk, the width of the room, facing a wall--sized window, marble bath, a large new leather chair for reading, large flat screen TV, comfortable beds with lots of pillows of all sorts of thicknesses and types. The service is young and extraordinarily attentive, the elevator so quick, the restaurant downstairs terrific (I had a delicious duck with pears and some good Pinot noir from Oregon), and free lattes and croissants in the morning, made for you fresh by another friendly and helpful staff member.

Room Tip: I asked to face the back, and overlooked lots of Yale gilded cupolas and the Yale Rep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf, ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently, I have traveled through new england and the eastern states looking at colleges with my children. Mostly, our choices to stay are standard Marriott style hotels or old home style B&Bs, thus my expectations for The Study were minimal, yet my experience far exceeded expectations. The staff is friendly and helpful, the restaurant offers excellent foods, the lobby is welcoming offering free coffee and tea, newspapers and books to browse; and, it is comfortable to hang out in reading or working on a computer while also a great place to meet up with friends, the location is fantastic for visiting Yale's campus, and the rooms offer free wifi and iPod docking stations. My only dissatisfaction was the size of the bathroom (minuscule) and the meagerly equipped 'fitness room'.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I only spent one night here before a meeting in Cheshire but what a find! Comfortable modern room, lobby with coffee & tea available, free wifi everywhere (although it didn't work for most of my stay) and a great location on Chapel Street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Study at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.