We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in New Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Study at Yale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Study at Yale to your Saves list
The Study at Yale
1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in New Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The location of this boutique hotel in proximity to Yale was the reason that I stayed here. However the modern rooms with comfortable beds and Frette linens are the reason that I will return. The staff were helpful with directions and information about Yale. I agree that the air conditioning unit did make some loud noises at night so we asked them to look at that problem after we left. Otherwise I highly recommend The Study at Yale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    130
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
159
105
33
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I came to New Haven to attend a conference at Yale. The Study at Yale was one of the recommended hotels. This hotel did not disappoint! When reserving my room, I requested a campus view. I was told that many people request this view and that there are no guarantees. I was very happy to discover I had indeed received a campus view room. The room was really nice and very clean. The floor my room was on was very quiet. It was so great. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. Even the cleaning staff said hello and smiled whenever I saw them. The location of the hotel was excellent. It was within walking distance to the campus buildings I needed to go to and many shops and restaurants. Insomina Cookies is on the same block. I recommend stopping in to get some cookies since they are always warm like they just came out of the oven.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent a night here in the fall and my initial review from that stay was reconfirmed in this second stay. Location, location, location as they say in the real estate trade, along with valet parking were the decisive factors in our booking this second stay! It doesn't hurt that our son's apartment is around the corner either, so The Study scores high on those factors alone. Pleasant and helpful staff along with a boutique feel throughout the hotel, comfortable lobby and lively bar certainly are all factors to recommend the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and clean and bathrooms small but functional. My major complaint Dom our first stay still stands however, and that is the noisy air conditioning unit which goes on and off throughout the night and which woke me repeatedly. That reiterated, we do plan on staying at The Study in the future during our son's tenure at Yale because the positives once again outweighed the few negatives.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Everyone in this place seems to go out of their way to make your stay a great experience.
Attentive, friendly, customer driven. Excellent value for the money.
They may need to work a bit on their door/valet staff. Had to go looking for them each time we needed to get our car, but even hen, they were courteous and prompt.
I don't plan to even consider any other alternatives as we return here several times a year to visit our students at Yale.
Book early. They fill up fast!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is stylish and well designed. Everything from valet parking, check in and checking out was smooth. Very welcoming staff, helpful. Our two double bed room was gorgeous, the amenities were very nice, we weren't expecting such a standard. Small gripe though: rooms on Chapel Street are kinda noisy, try get one that looks over Campus. Beds were delightfully comfortable.
Another gripe was breakfast: service was slow and the food wasn't particularly good or interesting, even though our waitress was friendly.
It is a good twenty minute walk to get to the Yale Undergraduate Admissions Office but it is a pleasant walk. Other features aren't far away.
Overall, there isn't much to complain about this place, the price is reasonable.
I can only recommend to go Study at Yale !

Room Tip: Get a view on campus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great location, in the middle of Yale. Excellent design. Spacious rooms with large windows, practically and elegantly furnished. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at The Study several times in the past few years, and it is a much-needed addition to the hotel options in downtown New Haven. It's perfectly located for anyone visiting Yale, and its upscale, modern rooms are comfortable and clean. They all offer nice views of New Haven and the campus.

The Study allows dogs, which is good for nearby dog owners. But since I'm from the West Coast and do not travel East with my dog, I consider this a drawback. Once I was down the hall from a dog which would not stop barking!

Also restaurant service for breakfast has been slow every time I've stayed there.

Overall, however, it's a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Study at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Study at Yale

Address: 1157 Chapel Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Haven
#1 Business Hotel in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Study at Yale is a new lifestyle hotel, offering an experience in service, style, and comfort unparalleled in the New Haven area. Located in the heart of Yale's vibrant Arts campus, the property boasts 124 guestrooms, including 7 Studies, 1 Presidential Suite, and an artist's studio. Each guestroom features a comfortable leather reading chair, extended work surface, lofty feather bed, and luxurious marble bath. Heirloom, The Study's 100-seat restaurant and lounge, serves modern continental cuisine for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your The Study at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Study At Yale Hotel New Haven
Study At Yale New Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Study at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.