We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Night with my girlfriend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Save Saved
You added The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Temple St., New Haven, CT 06510   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Night with my girlfriend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I live two towns away from the Omni in New Haven, Ct. I hadn't seen my girlfriend in some time and we decided to go out on a Saturday. What to do! I wanted to make the evening special so I made a reservation at the Omni in downtown New Haven, I asked for a corner room with a nice view and recieved just that. The room was spacious clean and quite comfortable. Now the hidden secret, they have a resturant and cocktail lounge on the top floor (19th) I've lived in the area for the past 30 years and never ever thought of going there. Well we checked in had a drink in the room and off we went upstairs for dinner. The food was excellent, I had the sea bass she had the filet, both cooked to our liking, plus the view was awesome, we both felt like we were on vacation anywhere but in New Haven, it was that nice, wine list was incredible and the staff was very attentive. I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling on business or pleasure, btw have breakfast served in your room to make the stay complete. It reunited me with someone very special and a week I won't soon forget. Thank you Omni Hotel

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great, suites I'm sure are better, but was very satisfied with the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
What a pleasure for us to read how much you and your girlfriend enjoyed your night away in New Haven. Thank you for all of your compliments of John Davenport's and our hotel. We are grateful for your complimentary review and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    182
    84
    43
    15
See reviews for
124
97
36
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Omni Hotel was in a great location with many shops and restaurants in walking distance. Omni staff was great and helpful. Only bad thing I would say would be we found expired food in the refrigerator snack bar. We called and they took it off our bill. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Omni New Haven at Yale! We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unfortunately there are not too many options in New Haven for higher end hotels, so the Omni is one of very few options in the center of town. I have stayed here several times and found a large difference in the experience based on the room. The last stay in a corner room was very nice, the bathroom appears to have been slightly updated and the normally noisy heater / air conditioner was not as bad as in the others, and the room was larger. Which is to say that in the other rooms, the rooms were small, bathroom in need of renovation and so forth.

They seem to be doing some work on the building renovating the restaurant / retail space on the street level and there may be some good options moving in, but for now it is mostly space available signs, but no matter because as they say location, location, location - and this hotel has it. There are many small and good restaurants near by with options that will meet any need you have within easy walking distance.

Because there are not that many options in the center of New Haven I have found that the hotel is completely booked when there are any University events, so if you are coming for one you really need to book early. It isn't a great hotel, that is partially due to the aging building but the staff is pleasant enough in a very busy place, and did I mention location, location, location?

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be an upgrade but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoy the location of our hotel and find it to be the best option for those traveling to New Haven. We are always trying to make updates to our property to better serve our guests and hope that you will continue to see improvements during future stays with us. Thank you for choosing Omni and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is in the best location in New Haven. It is on the older side but the updates are modern looking. We ate breakfast in the restaurant in the 19th floor and it was very nice with a great view. When in the area I will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay at the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our breakfast options. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otgwk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Omni New Haven Hotel during the New Haven Open. The room was clean and comfortable and service was fine. My only complaint would be that the late night band music across the street was quite loud. My husband enjoyed the pizza and beer at the Kitchen ZINC artisan pizza and bar, the sangria was not so good ( just a couple blocks away). Our whole family really enjoyed the Geronimo Tequila Bar and Southwest grill also just a couple blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side facing the street where the local music is played.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any noise from the surrounding area. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know that you prefer to be in a quieter area of the hotel and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wanted a place close to City Hall for our civil marriage on New Years Eve. The Onmi was closest, and within a short walk from other places to eat, etc. I have traveled a lot, coast to coast by car even, and this hotel was on par with a good Holiday Inn, with a better looking lobby.

We got a nice web deal for about $130 a night and I feel it was a good price.

When Laura at the desk learned we were there for marriage, she congratulated us and sent up some complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! Gratefully Accepted. Actually all hotel staff was were gracious and kind.

The only negative would be that their was a dog that barked quite a bit in the morning at 8:30 am. Though we were up and heading out by then, it may have woken others on the 8th floor.

Room Tip: I have heard the higher floors are better when wanting to avoid city noise. We were on the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your special weekend! We are delighted that our staff could make your time with us more enjoyable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent the weekend with our dog. The service from arrival to departure was outstanding. Christopher, at the front desk, bumped us up to a suite with a great view of the Green and Yale when I complained about our original 5th floor room with a parking lot view (the upgrade was not free but was definitely worth the extra $50 per night). The re-opened Yale Art Gallery (free) is worth a visit - give yourself lots of time, as there are four floors spread out over two buildings. We had a wonderful anniversary dinner at nearby Basta. And, it was a pleasure to return to our room(s) each day. Our recently adopted shelter dog (first time in a hotel) loved it too.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Green side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your complimentary review of the Omni New Haven at Yale. We are delighted that Christopher and our other associates took great care of you and your newest furry family member. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with him and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St., New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in New Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.