We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yale Center for British Art

Yale Center for British Art
1080 Chapel Street at High St, New Haven, CT 06520
203-432-2858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Attractions in New Haven
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yale Center for British Art is a public art museum and world-renowned research institute. Presented to Yale University by Paul Mellon (Yale College Class of 1929), the Center houses the largest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom. The collection of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, rare books, and manuscripts reflects the development of British art and life from the Elizabethan period to the present day. Works on view include masterpieces by Thomas Gainsborough, J.M.W. Turner, and John Constable, as well as artists from Europe and America who lived and worked in Britain. Perhaps its greatest treasure is the building itself, a masterpiece of modern architecture designed by architect Louis I. Kahn. Located in downtown New Haven, the Center is near many of the city’s best restaurants, theaters, and shops.
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Enjoyable experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Guide was very knowledgeable, kept our attention and had spontaneous answers to our questions. The exhibit was excellent. Easy to get to. clean and attractive building.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    39
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Went for British equine collection...great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We only go here every couple of years, but we enjoy it every time. Much more often, we see that there are exhibits that we want to get to but, due to distance and time constraints, we don't get to all of them

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming Center - more than merely a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Focused exhibitions always add a dimension to art museum visits, and the British Art at Yale is masterful in such execution. In addition to the expected high notes of Church, Turner, Stubbs, Singer Sargent, etc., there are artists whose work we are rarely exposed to in more generalized galleries on both constant and rotating view. I remember a particularly brilliant William Blake exhibit that had previously shown in London and Paris that was perhaps the most comprehensive collection in the world The British holds receptions for new exhibitions, and shows films on a regular basis. Admission is free, a very nicely stocked museum store is on the ground floor, and the building itself houses a Fro-yo World, and Atticus Bookstore and Cafe (worthy of its own review).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what's not to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great building, free admission, friendly staff and terrific art.You can spend a few minutes just going from floor to floor, visiting old favorites or take more time and learn something about British art!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Yale's Other Great Museum Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Yale Art Gallery is filled with a wide range of treasures; the British Art Center focuses much more tightly on the greatest works from British painting and sculpture. If your time is limited, head directly for the 4th floor, which has perhaps the greatest collection of JMW Turner paintings outside the Tate Gallery in London. This collection alone is worth the visit. But there is much, much more - Constable and Gainsborough and Stubbs's famed lion leaping onto an understandably terrified horse. The special exhibits are sometimes academic, but with Yale's legendary rigor; a recent one on women's needlework was amazing, with a black velvet panniered dress that had silk embroidery of flowers that were sewn with extraordinary accuracy, and no flower represented more than once. The building, Louis Kahn's last, is also a masterpiece, with louvered glass panels in the top floor ceiling to control the flow of light. This is aesthetics at a very high plane, and a total joy for an afetrnoon's visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yale Center for British Art also viewed

 

Been to Yale Center for British Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yale Center for British Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.