We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but don't freak out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satan's Kingdom State Recreation Area

Satan's Kingdom State Recreation Area
on Rt. 44 or 2.4 miles west of jct. Rt. 44/179, New Hartford, CT
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming, White-water rafting
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun but don't freak out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I mean that when I say that! When we went there everyone I was with panicked and flipped over, I had no problem! It is a bit pricy but worth it on a hot day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to spend the day, but don't go if the water's too low!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great way to spend a hot Summer day, especially after a few rainy days. You don't want to do this during an extended dry spell when the water is too low. There are lots of places to stop and have a little picnic lunch. Be sure to wear some old sneakers or some kind of sturdy water shoes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Salonga, NY
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great spot to get outdoors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I first went here with my grandfather, they were farming the area since before the Civil War. He said the name goes way back, who knows why. Maybe, because the winter were long & hard in the area and so many died off. The area is built up now, but its mostly like it was in the 1950's. Just a lot more traffic, but the river is the same.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Definitely no better way to cool off the summer heat than by tubing down the farmington river! nice little rapids and the splashing is quite refreshing on a hot August day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tubing- It's a good time if you aren't expecting too much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Like most people who go to Satan's Kingdom State park we went for the tubing. We paid for parking and tube rental which covered life preservers, tube and the shuttle back to our car. On a hot day the park is crowded and the river is packed with people drifting the 3 hours to the pick up point. The water is clean and crisp and the float is refreshing. There are 2 small rapids for excitement and they are well monitored with life guards. Even on a crowded day you'll enjoy the the cold refreshing water and the relaxed time on the river. Great for groups and kids from 7 up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satan's Kingdom State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Satan's Kingdom State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satan's Kingdom State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.