We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmer's Table

Farmer's Table
21 Forest St, New Canaan, CT 06840
+1 203-594-7890
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in New Canaan
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pound Ridge, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hidden spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place always has fresh food. I have yet to try it for dinner but I know each night there are only several options as the chef makes it with extremely fresh products. Their soups are delicious! You can also go in and buy a container of the soups to take home, fresh eggs and meats brought from an upstate farm weekly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple, good and Moderately Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

New Canaan has many unusual restaurants, mostly in the upper price range. There is one exception, not a diner or luncheonette but an original, with an innovative menu and an unadorned but not ordinary small room, There is fresh produce for sale on counters along the wall behind diners and the kitchen, tiny, is open for the customers to see. We had hamburgers, quesadillas, with the most delicious unadorned salad except for a little vinegar and oil. when is the last time you remembered the lettuce?

the only advice I have is for you to make a reservation and enjoy the experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Farmer's Table Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This diamond may be smaller than one carat (it's tiny!), but it's a flawless stone. Menu is really creative, featuring in-season ingredients. Wait staff is helpful and never far away. It's BYO, so you can bring outstanding wine and not pay 2X retail.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Cozy, Delicious Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is the cutest little restaurant I have ever been to! Very small and cozy so you will definitely need to make a reservation. It is walking distance from the New Canaan train station - as I came in from NYC, this was very convenient. The restaurant has such a homey, farm fresh and organic feel to it, you feel good eating there. It is very cozy and romantic and the food is absolutely incredible! Everything we tried was fantastic - the soup and homemade bread is to die for! Everything is organic and made fresh the same day! The entree's were delicious, and please leave room for dessert - the homemade key lime pie was out of this world! So smooth and creamy and just the right amount of lime (especially with them freshly whipped cream)! I will definitely be back and would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Delightful,Delicious Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had a reservation for lunch after our visit to the Glass House. This small,friendly,and informal restaurant provided us with a wonderful meal.
The spicey shrimp soup was rich and delicious.The grilled shrimp salad,
the taco filled with pork, and the pan seared shrimp with toasted garlic lime sauce were all perfect. The key lime pie was the
best we`ve ever had. Although there is good coffe,ice tea, as well as various other non-alcoholic drinks available(one can byo), lemonade was not on the menu....the waitress kindly went and made some for me. We wish this small gem was in New York City...guess we will just have to travel to
New Canaan again soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmer's Table also viewed

New Canaan, CT
New Canaan, CT
 

Been to Farmer's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmer's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.