We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger & Onion Rings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Street East Cafe

Cherry Street East Cafe
45 East Ave, New Canaan, CT 06840-5519
203-594-1515
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 58 Restaurants in New Canaan
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Burger & Onion Rings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Visited the Cherry Street East for dinner on a Friday night, fortunately, we were able to be seated right away as it was already somewhat crowded.

We both got burgers (the California Burger & the Vermonster). I enjoyed the Vermonster. It is served on an english muffin that setup the burger nicely. They cooked the burgers exactly how we requested them which is always nice.

I opted for the onion rings which was a smart decision. They were really crispy but the onion wasn't dry / over done on the inside.

The atmosphere is very warm and cozy and the ceiling is really low so it makes the dining area feel much smaller than it actually is.

Overall, we had a nice quick dinner and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly stop for the thirsty sole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Warm, dark wood, dim light, true pub atmosphere, friendly staff and a nice variety of beer and eats.

Stopped in to meet a local on the way from New Haven to Ft. Lee around 4 PM. Didn't eat there this time but the person who I went with that lives in the area and is a frequent customer, tells me the food is above average for a pub, and it's usually always a relaxing place to stop for happy hour or later with friends. She likes the burgers.

Will stop next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A definite "go to" for pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

An institution in the New Canaan dining experience. Always with a decent crowd which speaks to success of delivering a good product. Small bar that always seems to have a good crowd. Pub food including excellent salads, burgers, etc. will never go wrong when looking for pub food at Cherry Street.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hometown restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best burgers in New Canaan! We try to go every Sunday from April to November! The staff is great, & always fun to go for dinner!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I haven't been here since they had a fire many many years ago. Very good burgers that are served with potato chips on the side. Inexpensive its not. I think my burger was $11 +.
However, this is New Canaan and nothing is inexpensive.But, its a very nice place to meet up with a friend for lunch since there is ample parking at the restaurant or on the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Street East Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cherry Street East Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Street East Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.