We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and clean...but not "luxury"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roger Sherman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Canaan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roger Sherman Inn
Save
You added Roger Sherman Inn to your Saves list
195 Oenoke Ridge, Rt. 124, New Canaan, CT 06840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 New Canaan B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming and clean...but not "luxury"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Roger Sherman Inn, along with several members of my family, which means I had an opportunity to see multiple rooms. If you want true New England charm, go for the main house, which was built in the 1700's. DO take your earplugs and sleeping pills, though, as live entertainment goes all night and the sound carries upstairs. The carriage house/garage also has noise issues...I heard the inner mechanicals of the building humming on and off as well as the sound of other guests coming and going. Mattresses are firm. I find that to be a plus, but my sister called her bed an "Alcatraz cot". I found all the rooms to be attractively decorated and impeccably clean, which are big pluses. And the Inn sits on a scenic parcel of land conveniently located within walking distance of the town. The complimentary breakfast is quite nice.The staff, is very pleasant. The bar and restaurant are very welcoming. However, if you want a wake-up call, then bring a travel clock or a programmable cell phone because there are NO clocks in the rooms and the front desk is vacant from 9pm until 8am. Don't plan on reading in bed...there are not many lamps in the rooms and the ones that are present do not boast much wattage. Some rooms do not have full-length mirrors. If you have trouble with the access code to the building after hours, I'm not really sure what you do.... Would I stay there again? I guess so, since options are limited in New Canaan and it IS clean, charming, and conveniently located. Can I give them a glowing review? Not really, with the long-ish list of details that were not well-thought-out. So if you are looking for cleanliness, convenience, and charm---your needs will be met. If you are looking to be pampered and have a really special experience---might not happen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in the carriage house behind the main Inn with a number of guests in town for a wedding. The room was very small with a big bed. The heater/air conditioner was not working - a note said not to change the temperature setting, which made the room really cold if running - the natural temperature was too warm for good sleep. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean but lighting was limited. The wall switch did not operate the lights in the room. There was a small flat screen TV but we did not use it. The breakfast was good.
We had to leave before 8AM but could not enter the Inn to checkout so we left the key in the room. The door was locked with a different security code than our building and workers inside would not open the door. We had prepaid so this is a small thing but it was peculiar.
We did not use the dining room or other amenities of the Inn. The property was well maintained. It has the elegant New England appearance and style expected of such a place. We expect the experience in the main Inn would have been much better, and more expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Convenient location, nice continental breakfast, but that's where the benefits end. Prices are higher than listed on their internet site (how difficult is it to update them?) They won't honor the internet prices. Rooms smell musty, the wall paper is peeling and bathroom is barely passable. On weekend nights they rent the restaurant out to parties, playing loud music late into the night - you can't even hear the TV in your own room. If you arrive in the evening, expect to park your car across the street and hike with your luggage - they don't reserve parking spaces for hotel customers and the 15+ parking space at the building are filled with restaurant customers. Good news - when all the other hotels in a 15 mile radius are booked, this place is likely to still have a room...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Canaan hotels

new jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The inn is in a lovely, upscale area, but the decorating of the 'deluxe room' leaves a lot to be desired. Although the room was large and clean, it was definitely lacking in amenities. The decor of the room was spartan and didn't even include a dresser or armoire for storing clothes. The shades on the windows were ancient and the draperies were almost non-existent. The bathroom lacked a vanity with only a small cracked sink available. Bring your own soap for the shower as they only provide a small facial soap and a tiny bottle of bodywash. Housekeeping looked for a bar of soap, but couldn't seem to find one. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the porch was lovely. Overall, our stay was slightly disappointing and this in not as nice as other inns we've stayed in over the years. On top of it all, the garbage company showed up at 6:30am to empty the dumpster which is right under the bedroom windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Roger Sherman while visiting family in the area, and were delighted by this charming historic property. The Inn sits on a lovely street in bucolic New Canaan, a ten minute walk to the village shopping district with boutiques, restaurants, gourmet shops, etc. Other reviewers are correct that rooms have been updated tastefully with amenities that, while not luxurious, make this a comfortable and pleasant place to spend a few nights. Good food, helpful service, and a relaxing bar and terrace round out the friendly club-like atmosphere. If you like New England country inns this is a good one, and located within an easy one-hour train ride from Manhattan .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Roger Sherman many, many times in the past and was pleasantly surprised by the improvements which have been made by the charming new owners. Rooms are being beautifully decorated, breakfast is much better and the entire atmosphere is positive, warm and upbeat. Well done!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have been traveling back and forth to eastern Connecticut for more than six years now to visit my parents in their assisted living apartment in Redding. It has been a source of dismay and puzzlement to my entire family how such wealthy and upmarket communities offer so little in the way of decent lodging. We have tried B&B's in many towns, including a previous stay at the Roger Sherman a number of years ago which lead us to try somewhere else.
This past month a major family event was held in New Canaan and, the Roger Sherman Inn being the only place that could offer 11 rooms to my family for the weekend, we found ourselves there again.
What a change. Beds that had been lumpy before now had new mattresses and while the towels cannot be said to be exactly fluffy and soft, they were new and plentiful. The breakfast has been somewhat upgraded and this time around they at least had the room heated. Although I would say this breakfast is still a weak spot. Guest dine in a dark bar and all too often the staff is vacuuming in the room next to you (Couldn't this wait until after breakfast is over?). I would also suggest lighting the gas fireplace in order to create some type of ambiance in there on a dark day. But there is a decent spread of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and pastries to start your day with.
The dining room is pricey but the meals are excellent. Most of the locals seem to dine in the bar which has a good menu with more reasonable prices. But remember you are in Fairfield County!

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar can be noisy, especially on the weekends. Rooms in the cottage are most up-to-d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roger Sherman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Sherman Inn

Address: 195 Oenoke Ridge, Rt. 124, New Canaan, CT 06840
Location: United States > Connecticut > New Canaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Canaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical landmark in New Canaan, CT has been established as an Inn since 1925; the Inn was named after Roger Sherman whose niece, Martha Sherman, lived in the house from 1783 until 1806. Roger Sherman, a lawyer and delegate from Connecticut to the Continental Congress, had the distinction of being the only person to sign all four of these historical American documents: The Association, &c (1774), Declaration of Independence (1776), Articles of Confederation (1777), & The Constitution of the United States. In 2008, award-winning restaurateurs Nes & Joseph Jaffre became the owners of this elegant establishment and have transformed both the inside and the outside of the Inn. Recent renovations in 2012/2013 have given this historical landmark a modern, romantic feel while preserving the antique nature of the building. Come join us whether it's for a weekend getaway, cocktails at the bar, dining on our wrap around patio, an anniversary dinner, or a private party from 8 people to 180 people; our venue is perfect for all occasions! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roger Sherman Hotel New Canaan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roger Sherman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.