We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tools Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Tools Bar & Grill
136 Main St., New Britain, CT 06051
860-505-7226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Went to Tools with some business partners, we were all extremely impressed. Upon arrival an owner welcomed us, atmosphere was truly unique, food and drink outstanding, and all for great value!! Cant wait to go back for live jazz.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Black Bean Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Delicious black bean burgers made fresh at the restaurant, not frozen like served in most restaurants. Great selection of burgers for meat eaters but many other enticing menu items. Everything made fresh and in-house including the pickles and all reasonable priced. Jazz on Friday and Saturday evenings - who could ask for more!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was blown away by New Britain having such a great place! The menu is huge and the food tasted great. The staff was friendly and the Jazz music and art was fantastic. I agree with what someone wrote in another review about the artwork needing the artist name and price being shown. Worth visiting!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth a second visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Went for Friday night happy hour. Waitress didn't even know what happy hour specials were. Ended up having dinner in the main dining room. Waitress couldn't handle a party of 8. Forgot our drinks, screwed up food order. The night was a total disaster and I really don't see how they will stay in business. Totally unprepared to be serving customers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic ART of the wall, delicious appetizers and great CA wine selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place just opened up this month so I really didn't know what to expect. WOW. Smoked turkey leg? We ordered a couple of sides and everything was delicious. Having just moved from CA, I was impressed with their wine selection. Oh, and I wanted one the art pieces they have diplayed on the walls...I was THAT IMPRESSED. Owners need to put name of artist and price. I would have bought one!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tools Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tools Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.