We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the aquarium!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Mystic to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Mystic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Latham, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Close to the aquarium!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hyatt. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to places to eat, shop and a 2 minute drive to the aquarium. The hotel looks newly renovated. The rooms were new and clean. My only complaint is that I think they were designed for couples/ business travelers instead of families. I was shocked that our room only had a shower and no tub. This was a challenge with 2 kids. Free breakfast was included and it had a great heated outdoor pool. Our room also did not get cleaned till nearly 5pm even though we were out all day. That was a tad frustrating but all in all I think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic.

I am glad you found our location convenient to local attractions, and were satisfied with our outdoor heated pool.

I truly apologize that your guest room was not refreshed in a timely manner, and that you found the accommodations were at all lacking for a traveling family.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    179
    46
    11
    22
See reviews for
196
200
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just spent three nights at the Hyatt Place in Mystic. From the moment we entered this motel everything was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The motel was immaculate. Our room was very clean and it was big. Breakfast every morning was very good. The staff was always putting out more food. This motel is very conveniently located close to plenty of good restaurants, the Mystic Aquarium, The village and all of the local attractions. Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Traveler:

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic.

Your kind words regarding our accommodations are greatly appreciated, and I will certainly be sharing them with the team.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place is wonderful! The hotel is super clean. All the staff were great! Jamie checked us in and gave us amazing recommendations for local eateries and places to shop. Jamie was so pleasant and professional. The people who worked there you could tell they enjoy there job. I didn't encounter one unpleasant person there! We had 5 people in our hotel room and the room was so spacious. The beds were extremely comfortable and even was the couch! They even had a hotel shuttle that took you to either Foxwoods or Mohegan Sun for $15 roundtrip. Johnson was the driver and he was great! Very professional and punctual! He was at the casino right at 12am to pick us up. This hotel is in prime location of everything in Mystic. The town is only about a 5 min drive in and the place is beautiful. I can see why they call it Mystic, because the place is truly mystical. The cleaning staff did an amazing job and not one thing was dirty! I have been to other hotels and were def unhappy, (not clean, unprofessional staff or just plain rude) but this place...this place was like home away from home. My family and I are already planning out next vacation and we WILL be staying here again! Thank you again Hyatt!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Traveler:

I want to personally thank you for your review on the Hyatt Place Mystic. It was so pleasant to hear that our hotel accommodations met and exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Decided upon this hotel from reviews and wow we weren't disappointed. Couldn't check in until 3am so walked down into mystic itself along a very beautiful 20 minute walk and had an extremely nice lunch in S & P oysters as it was recommended. Had an ice cream across the road and walked back to the hotel past mystic seaport. Already unwound we headed for the pool which is very.nice and towels are provided. The room is enormous with a separate living room from the bedroom and the shower is also huge. Nice big 42" TV that swivels so you can watch it in bed is nice touch along with writing desk and fridge coffee machine and key safe to mention just a few of the touches. The breakfast in the morning is fab and everything from fresh fruit to porridge and bacon and egg muffins and toast and cakes etc etc etc is very good. Would love to come back here especially with grand children as there are activity clubs and special children film shows just for the juniors and the pool stays open till 1pm as well. Please visit the mystic seaport just down the road as $24 entry for an adult and we rushed through in 4.5 hours as so much to see.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic. And what a review it was! It seems you experienced all the Hyatt Place has to offer and I am overjoyed that you were satisfied with your stay.

We look forward to your return, and again, thank you for your kind words.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were travelling onto a further destination so only stopped over the 1 night. That said what an impressive room we had. Very large with separated lounge, with a corner couch and a work desk and chair, together with a separate sink. The bed was large and very comfortable too.
Breakfast which was complimentary, was substantial with a hot sandwich option included.
Very good value for the price we paid.
Staff were very helpful and polite too.
Altogether I wish we had been staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic.

Although a short visit, it seems as though you enjoyed your stay and hotel accommodations. We could not be happier to hear that. We appreciate your business, and look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really liked this place. It was clean, had decent amenities, and the room was large. The pool is heated to a very comfortable temperature and no one was out there. The gym lacked free weights and only had a bike, 2 treadmills, and an elliptical. The breakfast was standard. They take requests for egg sandwiches which is nice. The size of the room was great. Large couch and work area. I would definitely come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic. The markings you gave our hotel and accommodations are greatly appreciated.

It was such a pleasure having you stay with us, and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was very nice. Clean, large, high spec room for a reasonable price. Very efficient and friendly check in.

Breakfast was really good - small selection of fruit, cereal and some hot bagel options. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The swimming pool was small but suitable for relaxing after a long drive. Located outside Mystic village within 25-30 minutes walk - the walk is really nice as you get to see the historic seaport and stroll along the river.

The room rate was really good value but before memorial day so maybe not an indication of high season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMystic, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for posting such a positive review on your stay at the Hyatt Place Mystic.

It is a joy to hear that you found our accommodations satisfactory to your travel needs, the location was convenient in reference to Mystic attractions, and the staff that you encountered were informative and friendly.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Danielle B.
Lead Gallery Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mystic
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.