We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Mystic to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Mystic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off 3rd Night
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location, worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We considered a few alternatives, and this hotel has the best value. Walking distance to attractions, plaza and dining, free breakfast, nice room with couch. The best dining option was a short 15-20 min ride to Foxwoods Casino & Mohegan Sun (30 min). The only downside - no inside pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    165
    44
    11
    20
See reviews for
190
179
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Mystic in Dec 2013. My husband and I reserved a King bed room. We really liked the room. It was clean, spacious, and relaxing looking. Nice bed, Big TV, nice size shower. The customer service was fine at the desk. The complaints: First the noise level was horrible! We could hear everyone that walked/talked/yelled in the hallway. We could also hear our neighbors speaking - it didn't seem as they were yelling. When looking at the door, it wasn't sealed. There was a good 1.5 inch gap at the bottom of the door. This needs to be remedied. The noise level was just too much. We kept getting woken up at night due to other patrons coming home. Another problem: The housekeeping staff. We were only there 2 nights, so we didn't want housekeeping. We put the Do No Disturb sign up when we left in the morning, when we came back after lunch (around 1ish), we laid down for a nap (after being so tired from the noisy night before- and note the sign's still on door). We were woken by the housekeeping, not once...but THREE times. They knocked, we said no thank you. Ten minutes later, same thing. The third time I went into the hallway and yelled at the maid. To me (a light sleeper) that was completely unacceptable! Why were they even knocking on the door when the sign was up?! The noise and housekeeping really brought the rating down. I considered giving it only 2 stars, but it was clean and nicely kept. Very disappointed for the cost (150/night before taxes).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this Hyatt Place for the first time, Have stayed at the Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun previously. I am really impressed with the Hyatt Place and I will always look for these hotels when i travel. Nice room but the couch need to be changed. The cushions were pretty worn down. The bed was very comfortable. Shower was big compared to the rest of the bathroom, but I can live with that. The front desk was not as friendly as the front desk at the Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun (see previous review). The breakfast was...ok. Nothing to write home about. On the first day the pancakes were hard as a rock. I showed my wife the sound it made when banged on the table. They replace them with french toast, but they were gone in a second and not replaced. The next day the waffles looked good, but when I asked for sugar free syrup (diabetic here), they looked at me like I had 3 heads. How difficult would it be to go to a grocery store and spend $1.50 to satisfy a lot of your guest. I am positive that I wasn't the only guest to ask for sugar free syrup. I was told by the front desk that the breakfast was going to be revamped in the future....really? The fruit salad was again excellent as in the other Hyatt Place.I was also not a happy camper about having microwave oatmeal (I remember the Mohegan Sun Hyatt Place having regular oatmeal...I could be wrong). The individual cold cereal had a good variety. Sorry to spend so much time on the breakfast, but that tells me a lot about the hotel. Lobby was clean as was the rest of the hotel. I would stay there again, but bring my own syrup next time.

Room Tip: Bring your own sugar free syrup if you are diabetic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My son & daughter-in-law were married in Stonington/Mystic & we blocked quite a few rooms at the Hyatt Mystic. Everything was handled very professionally and the entire staff could not have treated us any better than they did. The rooms were beautiful, had a sleeping plus lounging area with large TV, the complimentary breakfast was delicious & everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were excellent. It was a pleasure staying there & Stephanie in group sales worked with us for over six months to insure that our guests from all over the country were able to get the type of room that they wanted. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again & am very grateful that the Hyatt staff helped make our wedding weekend even better!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed there about a year and a half ago (I had to choose March 2013 as our travel date for this review but it was a year earlier). The food was delicious and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious. I was most impressed with the professionalism of the manager, Sharon, who was so helpful in taking care of us and going above and beyond the call of duty. It is a perfect location. I have nothing to gripe about, just wish they had an indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel was pretty modern and the room was functional and clean. The sitting area in a King sized room was really spacious. TV was a great size and pivotal for viewing anywhere in the room. Bar area is small and very limited. There are cookies and hot cocoa offered in the evening time. A small variety of delicious looking snacks and Starbucks coffee are also offered for a fee. The complimentary breakfast was a bit better than "continental breakfasts" offered at other hotels. The location is really great for a visit to Mystic Seaport. It is right off the highway, which is ultra-convenient. There is a shuttle for the area casinos for $15 per person, but the times are very limited. So why was this excellent? Andy and Jaime at the front desk are phenomenal people. They gave area recommendations, offered to assist us with everything and were so friendly and fun to talk to. This was a great visit because of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were in Mystic to tour the area where our son is getting married. This hotel was a great price on Priceline. We were not disappointed. The room was quite large and there were good amenities. The hotel offered a free breakfast which was great and a bit different than the typical continental free breakfasts. There were also fresh baked sugar cookies in the afternoon and in the evening you could get coffee and tea for a small fee. We also appreciated being able to use the microwave in the lobby. The rooms have a small fridge which is nice, and our room had a large seating area. The rooms were clean and the hotel is well maintained. It does not have all the bells and whistles of a larger hotel, but it was well worth the stay. The staff in particular were pleasant. We will come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#1 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.