We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Mystic to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Mystic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one recent Saturday night. Having never been to the Mystic, Ct area, we were quite impressed. This hotel is very centrally located to the Mystic seaport shops and restaurants. We arrive an hour before check in and were accommodated right away. The lobby area is very nice. There is a bar and you can purchase some ready made food items. They also include a breakfast (cereals, toast, pancakes, egg sandwiches, fruit). We did eat breakfast Sunday morning however I wish we had chosen differently as we found so many other restaurant options in the area when we were out walking after check out. Our room was very spacious and clean. Nice big flat screen TV which was viewable from both the bed and the sitting area. There was a sink and refrigerator also. The bathroom sink and vanity area is directly in front of the bed, with the toilet and tub/shower in a closed room right beside the sink. I see several hotels doing this and don't like it. If someone is in bed and trying to sleep, it is disturbing to have someone right in front using the sink/vanity area. Also, there is no privacy there. This hotel is about 20 minutes from Foxwoods, which was convenient. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    179
    46
    11
    22
See reviews for
196
200
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a double bedded room. This is the third different Hyatt Place we have stayed in. It has the same consistent look as other properties. The double room is very large, at least in the living area. In addition to the standard large sectional and ottoman, desk and bar area, there is a bistro table. The living area is not cramped at all. In the sleeping area, you really cannot access each bed from both sides.

This property has a pool but it is outdoors. The breakfast is just o.k. But it will certainly do in a pinch. You can walk to the Seaport (15 minutes) and to the Aquarium

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hurricane Sandy left us in Madison Ct. without light and power, although many people had it far worse than we did. After three days we drove here for a hot shower and a warm space to use our computer and charge the cell phone.. It's a very nice hotel, far from luxury but reasonably priced at this season and certainly welcome in our time of distress.

We originally wanted to book at the Hyatt in Uncasville, where we had previously sayed, but they were full, so the young woman we called was nice enough to book us into the one in Mystic.

Which, by the way, is identical to the one in Uncasville.

There is a tempting array of pastries in a glass case just to the left of the registration desk. The hotel offers free breakfasts and 24/7 coffee and room service, plus a restaurant and bar. During our stay there was hot sweet cider available as well.

The room is clean, divided into a sleeping area and a desk--tv area, with a generous king-size bed and a refrigerator but no microwave. The front desk is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it has one of those mirrorless tiny bathrooms with the sink outside.

There's ample parking and at least during our stay the hotel was quiet at night and in the early morning. There are a few restaurants that are located in a lovely shopping mall located nearby which are within walking distance, as is the Mystic Aquarium

All in all, a very pleasant stay with no problems and a friendly staff. I recommend it if you are in the Uncasville Ct. or Mystic area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with my room. I had a king sized bed and was planning to stay on my own but due to power outages in Fairfield county, I came with two other people. The room was big enough for all and provided enough room that we weren't on top of each other. Beautiful room and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had to cut it short because of Hurricane Sandy, but we will definitely return to this hotel. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean, with modern décor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my second stay with the family at the Hyatt Place in Mystic Ct. Any one with a family of five or more know how difficult it is to find large rooms to accommodate your family. Hyatt has done a wonderful job in welcoming bigger families with larger rooms and and space to walk around. Our room had two double beds and a pull out sectional couch. Even with the pull out open there was still room for the kids to walks around freely. The location is perfect and close to all attractions. The aquarium is less the a half mile away and the seaport only about a mile in the other direction. You are also close to restaurants located right across the street and the shopping area. They only small blemish is the free breakfast. There are not many choices and the new breakfast sandwiches are just ok . You need to get to the breakfast area early as it gets extremely busy and there are not enough seats to accommodate every one. They also have trouble keeping up with the demand of the hotel guests and you often had to wait for them to refill the serving dishes. The staff was friendly and the rooms clean. Mystic is a great place for a quick weekend trip and the Hyatt Place is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at a Hyatt recently in another city I wasn't expecting a very nice room. But I was surprised and very pleased with the size and cleanliness of our room and of the whole facility in general. I learned it's best to not generalize among chains and read reviews for each individual place if possible before booking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic, CT 06355 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mystic
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.