We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Mystic Groton to your Saves list
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

The Mystic Residence Inn is in a very nice location between all the attractions, Aquarium, Historic Village, Seaports and all nice restaurant, We stayed there on the way to Newport Rhone Island for the week. Check-in is late, we got our room early at two thirty. The room is very nice. Perfectly clean, with full kitchen, nice bed, studio unit. Marriott is my favorite hotel chain. It is worth it to apply for their reward program. We got this unit using only 15000 points. Hotel offer complimentary breakfast in the morning. It is very good with a large selection of items. The coffee is better than Starbuck. We had lunch at Steak Loft. It is very good with great salad bar. I am not a big fan of the area attraction and will probably not stay in the area again. It was great for a stop-over! The staff is fantastic at this hotel. Everyone is friendly!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    95
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
126
57
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Overall, this was a clean, enjoyable hotel. My only complaint is that check in time is at 3pm. We arrived at 4:30 and our room was not ready yet, it was waiting inspection. It was not fun to wait in the lobby with two little children who were dying to get in the pool. I must say the desk staff was very attentive in trying to get the room ready for us. Overall, this hotel is close to nearby attractions and restaurants, and very clean. I would stay here again! In addition, I requested a quiet room at the end of the hall, and again the desk staff went out of their way to make sure I stayed in that type of room. In addition, we requested more blankets, and no sooner than I had gotten off of the phone with the front desk, the blankets arrived. I liked feeling like a valued guest - that happens few and far between nowadays.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I stayed at this Hotel during last week. The room was great, very clean and modern. The suite we had was split into two rooms. a bedroom with a queen size bed and a kitchen/living room with a couch/pull out bed my kids slept in. The kithcen included a full size refridgerator, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, two oven burners, all types of utensils, kitchen tools and pots and pans. Each room had a TV with HBO and the option to rent movies and nintendo games. The hotel also had a free breakfast which was very good. This included scrambled eggs, bacon, corned beef hash, waffles, 3 cereals, yogurt, oatmeal, doughnuts, toast, english muffins, bagels, bananas, apples, fruit salad and other items. From Monday to Thursday the hotel also offers a free dinner from 5pm to about 730pm. This is usually just one item (Such as a sandwich or pasta item to sometimes include a soup) The pool area was great for the kids and not cold as some previous posts mentioned. This area was very cleaan and included a whirlpool. The gym was aslo modern and very clean. The staff was very freindly and asked a lot of questions. I went to this hotel with two other couples who also were very satisfied. I have also stayed at the Comfort Inn in Mystic located next door. I felt that the Residence Inn is a better choice since the Comfort Inn does not have a pool area and the rooms are standard type rooms that do not have a kithcen. If you dont need these things the Comfort Inn is also a great place.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast and room.
  • Disliked — Pets allowed in hotel.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

The 1 BR suite was clean and spacious. The front desk personnel were very helpful with a fast check-in, map of Mystic, list of restaurants with directions, and even hours for Mystic Seaport. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

I am the queen of discount travel so the price $150 ish with AAA discount was pretty steep for my blood, but it worked well as a meeting place for several families. Loved having the space of a suite, a refrigerator and microwave (and popcorn). Breakfast buffet was good (not great) with lots of options including fresh fruit and make your own waffles. Staff worked hard to keep the food replenished. Only drawbacks were that the pool was a different building than our room.....it wasn't a long walk, but did require putting on coats and that the pool was cold (by Sunday morning it was finally reasonably warm).

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed here after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. Not sure where those people stayed, but it wasn't here. First problem - our first room smelled terribly of mold covered up by cleaning spray. Second problem - the second building (where our first room was) smelled bad throughout, and you must walk OUTSIDE to get to the first building where the breakfast and pool are located! Nice job designing that in Connecticut, guys, where it's 20 degrees in the winter. Third problem - the hot tub was insanely hot, so hot we couldn't get all the way in and our skin was bright red after only a few minutes. The front desk told us they couldn't turn it down. Fourth problem - they allow pets in this hotel, so our second room had the bonus of a barking dog in the next room for over an hour till the owner got around to coming home. And of course the walls are so thin we could here her scolding the dog, then talking on the phone for the rest of the night. Fifth problem - the food's pretty mediocre. Not expecting gourmet here, but the "hot wings" they had as a snack were completely inedible, and the breakfast's kinda sketchy. Oh, and the televisions are about 20 years old and have fuzzy reception.

On the plus side, the beds are really comfortable, the showers are nice, there's free internet, and the staff is pretty friendly.

Take your chances if you like, but we'll be staying somewhere else next time we're in Mystic.

  • Liked — bed, shower, free internet
  • Disliked — bad maintanence, thin walls, barking dogs, scalding hot tub, icky food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We stayed here after enduring a mediocre stay elsewhere. We were pleased with the room. It had a bedroom, kitchen, living room and separate sink from the commode. It appeared clean and accommodated our family of four well.

We loved the free breakfast that offered everything from cereal to eggs to make-your-own belgium waffles. The kids loved the pool, but it was on the cold side (and very crowded when we were there.)

Staff was very friendly.

For the money, this is a good place to stay.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Address: 40 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mystic Groton 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Mystic Groton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.