We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mystic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Mystic to your Saves list
Hilton Mystic
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What a nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

Absolutely everything RIGHT about this hotel. Front desk staff very nice, room clean and very comfortable, room service excellent. No noise...just a very nice hotel.

  • Liked — The bed - so comfortable!
  • Disliked — Parking - too far from entrance but still a minor thing.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    222
    150
    55
    43
See reviews for
207
206
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

Recently completed a somewhat disappointing 2 night stay at the Hilton Mystic. Over the years, I have stayed at quite a few Hilton Family properties and this one unfortunately should not be branded as a Hilton.
Room was comfortable and clean - bed was extremely comfortable and part of Hilton's newly upgraded beds.
Windows were poorly insulated, marble sill was ice cold in morning, despite windows being closed tightly.
Most troubling were the thin walls and loose doors. We could hear everything from the room and bathroom next door -- not just bathroom to bathroom but in the main room as well.
Room door had large gap underneath which made it next to impossible to make room dark for sleeping (although the bed bolster helped). Doors (at least on 2nd floor where we stayed) had no mechanism to dampen closure so all doors slammed shut with jarring noise. While we had reasonable neighbors on the hall who weren't slamming doors continuously through the night, this could be a problem for others.
Basic continental breakfast included as HH Gold benefit.
Overall, not entirely at the level I would expect of the Hilton brand.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west haven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Stayed for one night at Mystic Hilton with my husband. Spent the day at the casinos which are a short drive from Mystic. We loved our room-most comfortable bed we've ever had
in a hotel. The room had a large jacuzzi tub and soft robes. Everything was very clean. The buffet breakfast was very good. A bit pricey but would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the comfortable beds
  • Disliked — the long walk from the elevator
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night only, a Friday. I got a great rate on Priceline about ten days prior to our stay. The room was very comfortable, clean, and with great beds. The bellman was especially professional and attentive. He has obviously worked there for quite some time because he answered every question without hesitation and was clearly being sincere when he said to let him know if we needed anything. The building is older, but recently remodeled. The front desk staff were accommodating and pleasant. Our only complaints would be the internet speed and the small number of casino shuttle options. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will likely stay again in the future. It's an easy drive to Foxwoods, Mystic and Stonington.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — internet speed
  • Tips/Secrets — seek out recommendations for restaurants, there are many great ones
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Mystic Hilton 9/16 - 9/19/06. The location is right across the street from a gigantic shopping/restaurant complex with 60 small, quaint shops. It's lovely for a leisurely walk, browsing, shopping, and casual dining, with a duck pond and lots of areas to sit and relax. The hotel itself is your basic business hotel, with everything you'd expect in the room and in the hotel. They have a buffet breakfast every day, a full service restaurant, a lively bar in the lobby, etc. There are buses that pick you up right in front to take you to the casinos, if that's your thing. It is also right across the street from the aquarium, which is lovely. It's not really walking distance to the historic downtown section of Mystic (where you'll find the famous Mystic Pizza), so you'll have to drive there. The pizza is yummy and there are lots of shops and restaurants down there to walk around as well. Overall, I would stay here again!

  • Liked — The location is great for people who like things in walking distance
  • Disliked — Not a gorgeous, new, upscale resort; just a basic mid-range Hilton with everything you'd expect.
  • Tips/Secrets — The Marriott Mystic is newer, more upscale, prettier, but there's nothing in walking distance, so I prefer the Hilton for that reason.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

I always thought Sheratons and Westins had the most comfortable beds but the ones here beat them. I'd agree with most other reviews about this being a top-notch hotel in all respects. One minor fault is they have no place to buy newspapers. They do give you the USA Today each morning. There is a gas station about a block down that sells a good variety of newspapers.

The internet is free also.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

We just returned from a one night stay at the Mystic Hilton. This is definitely the best choice for a hotel in that town. The location is great, directly across the street from the aquarium and the Old Mystick Village shops. It's only about a 5 minute drive to Mystic Seaport. The hotel itself is a basic, but nice brick building.

We checked in around 5:00, and had no problems. The front desk staff wasn't the friendliest I've encountered, but was very efficient and informative. When you walk in, there is a glass-enclosed courtyard straight ahead with a large sculpture of whales in it. The main lobby area is to the left, and was pleasantly decorated with a bunch of seating areas.

We booked a2 double bed executive room, but this hotel doesn't offer the executive club lounge with breakfast and concierge service that most Hiltons do. However, we knew this before arrival, as it was clearly stated when we made the choice online. The room was on the fourth floor (438). It was a pretty far walk from the elevator, as there is only one set of elevators, and the hotel is in a large U shape. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. It was extremely clean, and had obviously been recently renovated. There was even a large open entrance area when you walk in. Everything was decorated in red and gold, and was very tasteful. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel! There was a large TV , and a great desk area with a very comfortable chair. Our view wasn't amazing, of the courtyard outside the indoor pool, but I don't think any rooms in this hotel have a "great" view. The bathroom was on the small side, but had nice tile and granite countertops. Again, you could tell everything was new. The only thing that needed repair was the carpet, which had some dirty spots.

I don't know if the executive room itself was any different than a normal room, but it was exceptionally decorated and quite large. The only extra amenities it offered were free bottled water, robes, and better bathroom amenities.

We didn't use the pool or fitness center, but the pool looked like a decent sized normal indoor pool. There was a Foxwoods casino shuttle that ran throughout the night, but we chose to drive to avoid being stuck there longer than we wanted. It's only about a 15-20 minute drive from Mystic.

We chose to eat at the Mooring Restaurant for breakfast the next morning. It was quite good. The restaurant is pleasantly decorated in a nautical theme, but isn't very popular. We were the only family there when we went, but some people came later on. We all had the buffet except my son, which was ok, but not the best I've ever had at a hotel. There was an omelette station, cold cereals, fruit, and pastries, and some hot items like sausage, bacon, and potatoes. My son ordered off the menu and got the caramel apple french toast. It looked and tasted great. It was french toast with small pieces of cut-up caramelized apple on it. The restaurant is pricey, but convenient if you are staying at the hotel. We didn't see many other breakfast options in the area, so we chose that.

All in all, we had a very good stay at the Hilton Mystic. If I was returning to Mystic we would definitely stay there. The only problem is that Mystic doesn't really offer enough attractions to make repeat trips very often.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mystic

Address: 20 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Mystic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mystic, Connecticut, just one block from Interstate-95, Conveniently located for both corporate and leisure visitors alike. You'll appreciate the convenient location of our Mystic, CT hotel as a coastal stopping point between New York City and Boston, MA, filled with historic charm of maritime New England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hilton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.