We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a very nice place to spend a few days, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Mystic

Save Saved
You added Hilton Mystic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Mystic
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Memories in Mystic
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Still a very nice place to spend a few days, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We usually stay here or the Hampton Inn when we visit Mystic(which we do a few times a year) and we usually choose by who is giving the best price at the time. We're happy to say the Hilton is still very nice. Staff is pleasant, their restaurant(Soundings) is decent and the location to downtown or the Seaport is great. Unlike the Hampton breakfast is not included in your stay and the rooms do not have refrigerators(which was an innconvenience to us with two small children). You can rent a refrigerator from the front desk but they charge $20 a night!!! No thanks. Their breakfast was just ok, nothing special. There was no new food put out the entire time we ate our breakfast. Matter of fact, we had to practically sprape out whatever food was left in the pots.
Also, another thing we didn't like is the hallways are beginning to look worn and old. The carpet is stained and warped in numerous locations and is quite obvious. Some of the warped areas are so raised that a child or an elderly person could trip on them. Also, the wallpaper is peeling in several locations and the paint color of the doors and wallpaper make it look like you are walking in a nursing home hallway. Like I said, other than that, its still a nice place but in the future if the price is comparable we'll stay at the newer Hampton Inn down the road with free hot breakfast and refrigerators in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. Your feedback is important to us and I will be sure to bring your comments regarding breakfas up to our managment team in our weekly meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    191
    123
    44
    36
See reviews for
167
164
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Location is easy to reach. Close to Mystic Seaport and the Mystic Aquarium. Pleanty of restaurants nearby. Right off Rte 95 in Mystic, CT. Room was typical and nothing special. Bathroom was very small and tired. Price was higher than most places, but that may have been our fault for not taking available discounts.

Room Tip: Check for available discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am happy to see we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms were bright and spotless, the beds were SO comfortable! There was a gym in the hotel which we used and it had all the equipment I could have hoped for as well as headphones to use. The pool looked clean but we did not use it. Plenty of parking and right across from Mystic Aquarium! Of course Mystic Ct is a wonderful town and we enjoyed walking around downtown (you have to drive- not within walking distance from the hotel) The lobby was clean and bright, the staff was nice, it is a huge hotel. We even got the morning paper outside our door! Will keep looking for Hilton Hotels when we travel, even if it is a little higher priced than others. We did not try the restaurant in the hotel but will another time, as we will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am happy to see we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I came here even though I read some not so nice reviews on Tripadvisor. I have to say that we didn't find anything wrong with this hotel. If you are looking for a five star hotel on the ocean go to Maui. If you're looking for a nice place to stay while you explore Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium, then this place is perfect. Both attractions are very close to the hotel so its very convenient. The room was spotless, as was the bathroom. The furniture looked fairly new. We had a big screen TV with cable. Also has free wifi which was nice so I could FaceTime my kids on my iPad. We got the bed and breakfast package which included breakfast. The meal was very good. We had the breakfast buffett both mornings and not only was there a nice variety the food was hot and delicious. The staff was also very friendly and nelpfull. If I have anything negative to say its that the bed was just a little too soft for me only because I have back problems and I need a firm mattress. My wife didn't seem to mind at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the elevator and on the top floor if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am happy to see we were able to make your stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I had business on the CT & Rhode Island border so I booked a room at the Hilton Mystic without having any prior knowledge of it. I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the room and comfort of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again if business finds me in the same area. Very good service and a nice restaurant right onsite.

Room Tip: Make sure to tell the front desk if you don't want to walk far for your room as this is a low fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am very happy to see that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope to see you again should your travels take you to Mystic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Staff very helpful. Rooms are very nice. One mile from Mystic Seaport. prices a little high but expected due to it's location. Other hotels nearby. I would stay there again but would also compare prices with the Holiday Inn nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am happy to see that we were able to make your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

bedroom clean and bed very comfortable with plenty of space and clean large towels. Decor a little tired.Staff very pleasant but breakfast disappointing because obviously prepared for early coach parties and not refreshed so lukewarm by 9a.m. We had to ask for milk and bowls.The Friendlys down the road is much better and gives discount to hotel guests.

Room Tip: Bedrooms on fourth floor are better as away from noise of coach parties leaving early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Front Office Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valubule feedback from your stay at the Hilton Mystic. We understand that as a guest; you have numerous options to where you can stay while you are away from home and we truly appreciate that you have selected us. I am happy to see that we were able to meet your expectations. We will be rennovating within the next year. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mystic

Address: 20 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Mystic 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mystic, Connecticut, just one block from Interstate-95, Conveniently located for both corporate and leisure visitors alike. You’ll appreciate our convenient location as a coastal stopping point between New York City and Boston, MA, filled with historic charm of maritime New England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hilton Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hilton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.