We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mystic to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We were desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

.....a blizzard ambushed us in Mystic and Rt95 was moving at 4mph if that. So we got a room.
The good was room was well 'roomy'. 2 TVs sink, kitcheonette, etc.
but......and its a big but, twas run down and dirty. Not everywhere but the foldout couch bed had old food in it! and the security door latch was about to just fall off. Needed to borrow a screwdriver to do the sorta repair myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Kalcan,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We constantly work to ensure that every guest has a wonderful experience at our hotel and I am disappointed to hear that you were not left with such an impression.
While I can not take back your experience at the hotel, please be certain that I appreciate your honesty and will do everything in my power to ensure future guests do not have a similar visit.

Best regards,

Kate K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    118
    43
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
83
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
divadeb51
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple nights during winter school break-went online and found a good price for a jacuzzi suite-here at the Holiday Inn Express-we had always stayed downtown in one of the inns but one was completely booked and the other one a bit out of our budget! Anyway-we were really pleased with the Holiday Inn-the front desk girl was so nice when we checked in-the room was good size and quiet, comfy bed too. The breakfast was pretty good-LOTS of variety- different each day-we loved the cinnamon buns especially. There were a couple things that we didn't care for-one was that there was no light by my husband's side of the bed for reading-we moved one from the desk, also the toilet paper dispenser was on the far left-under the cabinet and a real bugger to get too-I know that's a little thing but...still a pain-literally!!! Also was surprised that the maid hadn't come into our room to make up the bed or check if we needed clean towels-one of the best things about staying at a hotel is a nice freshly made bed when you come back from being out and about. All in all we would recommend this hotel and would come back for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter22
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I are members of Mystic Aquarium who live in NYC. A few times per year, we visit the Aquarium (which is great) and always stay here. It's walking distance to the Aquarium, and a short drive to both Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos and historic Mystic. We make a romantic weekend of it because we enjoy the pool and jacuzzi, and the fridge in our room for bubbly and snacks. We like the huge flat screen TV and king size bed with a sofa too. Nice cinnamon scented amenities. We make a tray from the morning breakfast buffet and have breakfast in bed. In warm weather, there is an area outside the pool to sunbathe on chaises. In cool weather, there is a gas fire pit too. Quite nice for a Holiday Inn and the price is affordable. Only drawback - sometimes pool is full of loud, out-of-control kids with parents who don't supervise them at all. Have to pick your times for pool and Jacuzzi. We find afternoons are best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear FitNYC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Iam very pleased that you were happy with your stay. I appreciate the 5 out of 5 and look forward to sharing your review with the Staff. Hope to welcome you soon at our hotel again!

Sincerely,

Kate K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is completely OK with the HI standards. Very nice welcome.
Rooms are quiet and good for the price. Comfortable beds.
Good location to visit Mystic Seaport and Newport. 30 minutes away from the nearest beach (but worthwhile)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear AnetMichel,


Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you have noticed the location of our hotel. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Hope we will see you soon at our location again!

Sincerely,
Kate Kontsevaya
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Mystic. It was the second time we stayed there, but it had been almost 4 years in between stays. Not much had changed in the 4 years. We had a large room with 2 queen beds. The spacious room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The sofa bed was old and I was glad we did not need it as a bed as it looked worn out and uncomfortable. The TV was relatively new, but the reception and picture were poor. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The bathroom was small, but well appointed. We are Priority Club members and the young woman at the front desk was pleasant, but our "special bonus" for a being Priority Club members turned out to an expired bag of chips! Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare. It was school vacation week so there were lots of families and at times it was difficult to get food because of all the kids, but I always appreciate the convenience of the free breakfast. We did not use the pool, but could see it was busy with families. The location is good and there is a grocery store around the corner. It is pet free. Overall it was a good value and I would recommend it for a family getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with queen beds for the same price as the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Green1Ma,

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a weekend at Foxwoods. Instead of paying the $369.00 per night at Foxwoods we decided to stay at this Holiday Inn Express. We were surprised at how large the hotel is. It has a beautiful, large foyer/reception area with an area to sit by the fireplace. The only drawback is that the breakfast area is located here and in the winter time is can get quite cool. I would recommend wearing a sweatshirt when having breakfast. The pool and hot tub were clean and never out of towels. The hot tub was hot! Very comfortable and relaxing. The room was large with a king size bed, sofa, fridge, microwave and flat screen TV. The room was very clean. The only drawback was that the hotels cable was having difficulties which caused 2 lines horizontal lines which kept moving in an upward motion on the TV screen. We did call this in twice to the front desk but it appeared that they were not able to get anyone from the cable company until Monday or Tuesday. The Steak Loft is a very short walk away from the hotel and has a meal! When planning our next trip to Foxwoods we will make sure to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Shawn S,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. And also I would like to apologize for any inconvinience due to cable problems. After the snow storm we had some difficulties with the signal. But it is all fixed now and hopefully we will see you soon at Holiday Inn Express and you will have a better experience with us. Your are absolutely right about Steak Loft! This place is great and has a salad bar which is very convinient for lunch time. We have the Restaurant Guide at the Front Desk and our Agents will be happy to recommend other places if you would like to try something else, there is a lot of nice places in Mystic.
Thank you again! I appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments!

Sincerely,
Kate Kontsevaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located just across the street from the Old Mystic shops and had it not been below freezing, we could have easily walked there and to the aquarium. Service was good, the breakfast was quite extensive and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable with a nice lightweight comforter. Only complaint was the noise--not sure where it came from--but there was clanging and banging throughout the night. The next morning, I even went up a flight to see if there was some obvious explanation, but found nothing. The noise might have been from the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for a good review and for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Kate Kontsevaya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Address: 6 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.