We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mystic to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
1 review
“Not my first choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Was here for three nights. The room was nice and big. The carpet was very stained in my room. The carpet in the halls was not vacuumed by the edges, it looked very dusty. I don't think they really wiped down my bathroom counter, I could still feel stuff on it. The ac/heater only produced cold air even when I turned it up to 80. Luckily the weather was ok and I just turned it off. My door was locked, but did not seem to latch all the way. It would move slightly in the frame when I pushed on it. The front decked was usually unmanned and I saw people there waiting all the time. I did sleep well each night and enjoyed the Mystic area. I feel that a bunch of improvements could be made to make this a much more attractive and pleasant place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Cobi S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that you found our room accommodations good enough for your needs. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day, especially with the bathroom and air conditioning issues you experienced.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    118
    43
    21
    12
See reviews for
128
83
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is right off 95, very clean, friendly staff, nice pool, beautiful, quiet rooms! what more can i say? it was just perfect- i wish there was an outdoor pool, but the indoor one was small but clean. it was a beautiful area with plenty to do. cute little shops right across the street and close to all activities-

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, location great, bed comfortable and price was reasonable. I would definitely go back to this hotel. Only stayed one night in mystic and I'm glad I stayed here!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stopped in Mystic just for one night/day to take our kids to the Aquarium. We didn't make any reservations just happened to stop in and got the last room available! Hotel is in a GREAT location set up on top of a hill which gave a nice view and was close to the aquarium,Mystic village,rest etc. Although the pool was a tad small and seemed to be a little dark in the pool area our kids had a GREAT time swimming. I thought the breakfast buffet was good and it was also an added plus that we saved $32 by purchasing our Aquarium tickets through the hotel instead of the Aquarium itself! We will def go back to Holiday Inn Express if we ever decide to visit Mystic again ;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowick, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This Hotel is close to everything in Mystic. The lobby and our room was clean. There is a indoor pool which is ok, not very big, but nice. The staff was friendly. We would stay here again if we ever return to Mystic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was visiting from the UK and stayed in two hotels in New England. This one was the more expensive and yet I will remember the other one with more affection.

When booking this hotel I expressed a preference for a quiet room preferably on the top floor. On arrival I was allocated a ground floor room near the laundry and overlooking the rear car park with no explanation of that allocation. For most of the stay this was fine but on Saturday night stamping about upstairs and noise in the corridor continued until about 3am as people returned from their night out. Maybe those people intending to return late should be allocated a particular part of the hotel?

Other key features of the hotel from my point of view were:-

 Great location near the Aquarium and Olde Mistick Village and short drive to the Seaport. Short walk to restaurants.

 Plenty of parking and good rooms. Unlike a previous reviewer I found the bed and pillows very comfortable.

 Complimentary breakfast but not top quality with sometimes tepid coffee and "hot" food. I think the breakfast area could be better laid out.

 The hotel seems to say all rooms non-smoking but I am sure I could smell smoke coming through the air conidtioning at times which was not pleasant.

So, overall whilst a good hotel I don't think it is as well run as it should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear hampshire27,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to post a review of our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous. However, hotels are used for sleeping. The pillows are comparable to a few cotton balls stuffed in a bag. The sheets are itchy. The air conditioner in our room went from 60-80 degrees all night. None of us got any sleep because of this. I also got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and cut my foot on a piece of glass stuck in the rug. We had not brought any glass into the room. When I mentioned it to the front desk the next morning, all I got was a smile and a "I'm so sorry." Not happy at all considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear tanzio,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for bringing this matter to our attention. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Address: 6 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.