We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn of Mystic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaid Inn of Mystic
2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Mystic B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a comfortable stay here. I enjoyed watching "Mystic Pizza" and eating Mystic Pizza while we were in our room. It was an easy walk to downtown and the apple pastry we had was excellent. If you are ever in Mystic, I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my boyfriend's first experience staying at a b & b, so he was a bit apprehensive. Well, now he's a convert! The Mermaid Inn is a pure delight, great accommodations, charming hostess, delicious food and superb location. There are so many little "extras" that make this such a special place -- freshly baked cookies, pastries, gourmet popcorn, cognac and chocolates in the room. The beds are big and comfy, everything is spotlessly clean and there is plenty of hot water. The proprietor, Josephine, was delightful, very helpful, but not at all intrusive. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Mermaid Room.
The bed was very comfortable and we had two very good night's sleep.
Its a little bit hard to find, so I would suggest that people pay more attention to the exact wherabouts of the hotel than we did.
Josephine has cookes and pie out each evening, together with sherry, and facilities to make tea or coffee. There is a fridge in the room which has soft drinks and water in it, and you get a goodie bag when you leave.
The breakfasts were very good with Josephine's home made Granola, for which I intend to email and ask the recipe.
Apart from everything else a HUGE attraction to the Mermaid Inn, is that you can park your car and forget it... Mystic Seaport... restaurants, etc... all in walking distance. If you have time, which we did one night.. its nice to sit on the lovely terrace with a drink.
If you are visiting Mystic you could not stay in a better place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our recent trip. The blue room was spotlessly clean, had a fridge stocked with bottled water and canned drinks and an interesting mermaid mural in the bathroom! Josephine's breakfasts, cookies and apple pie were all delicious. Walking into Mystic each evening for 'happy hour' and dinner was a delight. On the morning of our departure Josephine provided us with water, cookies and fruit for our journey which was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent 2 days in this beautiful Mystic B&B that is close to everything. The innkeeper Josephine is everything I read and much more. We stayed in the 2nd floor “Blue Room” with an en suite bathroom and it was ideal. We loved the painted mermaid mural in the bathroom. There are so many room creature comforts from the bathrobes, chocolates, frig stocked with soda and bottled water, cognac, satellite tv, air conditioner, ceiling fan, and a very comfy bed. The breakfasts were over the top good. Add in coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sherry, and those addicting delicious cookies made by Josie. The attached gazebo, comfy chairs, porches and the well-kept gardens just make you want to stay longer. We enjoyed talking with Josie as well as her sister Sadie and brother-in-law. Thank you too for our travelling goody bag!! A must stay in Mystic!!

Room Tip: Go with the 2nd floor "Blue Room" and Mystic is perfect for walking around. Do take advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Mermaid Inn was our first stop off during our New England vacation and it did not disappoint.
The B&B was very clean and comfortable. There were homemade cookies and other desserts out when we arrived. Our breakfast was very delicious and filling. Josephine even made us a goody bag with water, fruit and her amazing cookies to take for our journey. She is very knowledgeable of the area and can help you make decisions for dinner, etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently visited the Mermaid Inn with my husband, young son, mother-in-law and sister-in-law and had a wonderful time. The Inn itself is very clean and well-maintained. The proprietor(s) are so very conscientious and considerate. It's location could not be beat with so much available at such a short walk away. I was concerned about going to a B&B with an active 18-month old, but they quickly put my mind at ease. I would definitely recommend the Inn to friends who are looking for a low-key and welcoming place to stay. My only small complaint was that our pillows were not the best, but that's a very personal and subjective assessment. If we were to go back, we would probably bring our own from home.

Room Tip: Both the blue room and the Mermaid room were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mermaid Inn of Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Inn of Mystic

Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel Mystic
Address: 2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1843 Victorian Italianate in Historic Downtown Mystic.Short walk to everything. Lovely porches, gazebo, and grounds to sit and relax. During warm months enjoy a threebreakfast on the gazebo with views of the river. Fresh baked goods, coffee, tea, and sherry are always available in thedining room. Guests are welcome to the baby grand piano and large selection of movies. Cozy, well appointed rooms offerprivate baths, robes, chocolates, fridge with water and softdrinks, and flat screen with dvd. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn of Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mermaid Inn of Mystic to your Saves list