We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mermaid Inn is wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn of Mystic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaid Inn of Mystic
Save Saved
You added Mermaid Inn of Mystic to your Saves list
2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #2 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mermaid Inn is wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for his 40th birthday. Josephine had decorated the room with balloons and a bottle of wine. He was so surprised and impressed with every aspect of this fabulous bed and breakfast! The blue room was in a great location and spacious. The breakfasts were beyond anything we could've imagined. Josephine had freshly baked cookies and popcorn every afternoon. The location was perfect! We were within walking distance to everything!! Can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We chanced upon this wonderful Inn based upon prior reviewer recommendations. The room was perfect- clean, with many amenities. The location near town couldn't be beat. Josephine was a pleasure and breakfast was devine. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and sharing a stories with the other guest.s.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was an absolutely perfect place for my husband and I to stay during our wedding weekend! We got married in nearby Groton, but we wanted to have a quiet place to enjoy our last day engaged and our first few days as a married couple. This was absolutely perfect!

From the moment we checked in, we knew it was special. The wrap-around porch overflows with gorgeous flower boxes, and there's a beautiful white flowering tree by the front steps. The house has so much character, and the location is literally steps from downtown Mystic but feels secluded and private.

The lovely owner had left us a bottle of champagne and a bouquet of roses in our room in honor of our wedding. We had an incredibly comfortable bed, a beautifully appointed room, and a very lovely bathroom with all the modern amenities. It was the perfect mix of the historical house with modern comforts. There were chocolates in a dish that was refilled daily, there was Courvosier in a decanter, there was sherry downstairs to enjoy (we didn't get a chance, but next time for sure!).

Breakfast was magical - truly magnificent! It was worth the price of the room on its own. When we woke up on our wedding morning, way too early and too excited to sleep, we got up and got coffee downstairs in the Keurig machine and went outside on the porch to sip and enjoy the view. We took a stroll into downtown Mystic, and then came back for breakfast on the patio. It was so sweet and special. My husband has some dietary issues with grains, so the owner was super accomodating - he had an amazing omelet on our wedding morning while I enjoyed the incredible waffle. We both enjoyed the homemade yogurt with cinnamon pecan granola, as well as the organic fruit with whipped cream. The day after our wedding, we woke up as husband & wife and dined on lobster frittata! The following day, we had baked pear in a puff pastry that made my knees weak.

There were cookies left out every night, and a baked apple tart. We certainly ate those! They were incredible!

While I got ready for the wedding, the B&B felt like a private home. We sat in the living room and relaxed, had lunch at the table, put on make-up and had my hair done in the bedroom. It was so relaxing and easy. When we popped the champagne, we grabbed some strawberries & raspberries leftover from breakfast to put in our glasses, which were conveniently located in the cupboards downstairs. It was so easy and elegant!

I will treasure this B&B for many years, and we're both so looking forward to coming back many times to celebrate anniversaries! This place is a treasure, and I am so glad we found it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong, but we loved the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in a great location in Mystic. The owner, Josephine, is attentive to every need and detail. The rooms are fresh and spotless. We stayed in the rose room. It is small but ample as a bedroom, and you have use of the parlor, porch and gazebo to lounge or read. You could hear footsteps in the hall (wood floor) but otherwise will not be disturbed by neighbors. (There are only 3 rooms up, one down.) Breakfast is delicious and fresh-prepared each morning. We had Belgian waffles one day, omelets the next day and fritatas the third, and all were excellent. Breakfast is served on the gazebo, weather permitting, which has a lovely (partial) view of the Mystic River in a very quiet setting. There is coffee, tea and treats such as home baked cookies throughout the day. There is also complimentary sherry in the dining room (Savory & James - excellent choice!) and brandy with sniffers in the room. The location is perfect as it is not on any high traffic street but right in a quiet residential neighborhood. Yet, it is easy walking distance to downtown Mystic, the draw bridge and many restaurants, and an easy walk to Mystic Seaport. It is possibly walkable (1.7 mi.) to the Aquarium and Olde Mistik Village.

Room Tip: 3 BRs upstairs, one downstairs. One of the upstairs room has a bathroom which is private but just ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a cute little Inn with gorgeous views of the river. The little things always make a huge difference and Josephine spares no expense. From the complementary bottle of wine and dozen colored roses waiting in our room to the amazing breakfast menu options, we had a wonderful (albeit to short) stay. Highly recommend and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful experience!. Just returned from a stay here and loved it. Breakfast was delicious! It was extra touches that made the difference. Fresh bashed cookies, pie and lemon squares available all day. Cognac and drinks in the room! Finally, a to go bag with water, death baked cookies and apples got the road!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijmenam, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

How perfect can it be...? It is a fantastic B&B! Thanks, Josephine, we had a marvelous stay! Rooms & bathrooms are clean, nice and super comfy. We appreciated the homemade cookies and pastry in the afternoon. Breakfast was by far the best we had so far on our trip. And when we left, there was a goodie-bag for the road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mermaid Inn of Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Inn of Mystic

Address: 2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1843 Victorian Italianate in Historic Downtown Mystic.Short walk to everything. Lovely porches, gazebo, and grounds to sit and relax. During warm months enjoy a threebreakfast on the gazebo with views of the river. Fresh baked goods, coffee, tea, and sherry are always available in thedining room. Guests are welcome to the baby grand piano and large selection of movies. Cozy, well appointed rooms offerprivate baths, robes, chocolates, fridge with water and softdrinks, and flat screen with dvd. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn of Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.