We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn of Mystic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaid Inn of Mystic
Save
You added Mermaid Inn of Mystic to your Saves list
2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in a great location in Mystic. The owner, Josephine, is attentive to every need and detail. The rooms are fresh and spotless. We stayed in the rose room. It is small but ample as a bedroom, and you have use of the parlor, porch and gazebo to lounge or read. You could hear footsteps in the hall (wood floor) but otherwise will not be disturbed by neighbors. (There are only 3 rooms up, one down.) Breakfast is delicious and fresh-prepared each morning. We had Belgian waffles one day, omelets the next day and fritatas the third, and all were excellent. Breakfast is served on the gazebo, weather permitting, which has a lovely (partial) view of the Mystic River in a very quiet setting. There is coffee, tea and treats such as home baked cookies throughout the day. There is also complimentary sherry in the dining room (Savory & James - excellent choice!) and brandy with sniffers in the room. The location is perfect as it is not on any high traffic street but right in a quiet residential neighborhood. Yet, it is easy walking distance to downtown Mystic, the draw bridge and many restaurants, and an easy walk to Mystic Seaport. It is possibly walkable (1.7 mi.) to the Aquarium and Olde Mistik Village.

Room Tip: 3 BRs upstairs, one downstairs. One of the upstairs room has a bathroom which is private but just ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
110
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a cute little Inn with gorgeous views of the river. The little things always make a huge difference and Josephine spares no expense. From the complementary bottle of wine and dozen colored roses waiting in our room to the amazing breakfast menu options, we had a wonderful (albeit to short) stay. Highly recommend and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience!. Just returned from a stay here and loved it. Breakfast was delicious! It was extra touches that made the difference. Fresh bashed cookies, pie and lemon squares available all day. Cognac and drinks in the room! Finally, a to go bag with water, death baked cookies and apples got the road!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijmenam, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

How perfect can it be...? It is a fantastic B&B! Thanks, Josephine, we had a marvelous stay! Rooms & bathrooms are clean, nice and super comfy. We appreciated the homemade cookies and pastry in the afternoon. Breakfast was by far the best we had so far on our trip. And when we left, there was a goodie-bag for the road!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I recenly stayed at Mermaid Inn for one night. It is an adorable Inn with four rooms, about a 5-10 minute walk to the drawbridge and the famous Mystic Pizza. The Inn was very quiet with a comfy swing on the front porch. Inside, an artist painted mermaids in numerous locations. There were some great reading materials, selections of movies, and brochures of things to do in the area. The dining room was well stocked with coffees, teas, beverages,Sherry, homemade cookies, and popcorn in the evening, along with an apple tartlet. We stayed in the Rose Roomwhich was very quaint, although we had high hopes of a comfortable bed. However, we have been a bit spoiled with that in the past.
Josephine, the owner, innkeeper, and chef, is very sweet and accomodating. She made us feel right at home. Breakfast was outside in the gazebo and the pear tart with homemade whipped cream was delish as was the potato fritatta. There was also homemade granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, and fresh squeezed orange juice. We highly recommend this Inn to any couple who is looking for a quiet Inn with great service iin an awesome location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Mermaid Inn in Mystic was a perfect getaway location for four sisters who wanted to be together without a lot of fuss. We noticed and appreciated all the wonderful decor, the delicious food (including fresh cookies in the afternoon), the clean and well appointed bathrooms, and the relaxed yet thoroughly professional job done by our host. And the location of the inn was perfect.. We walked to lovely restaurants for dinner and events in town with ease. The outdoor gardens and landscaping were also very well done and created a calming and attractive setting. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Of all the B&Bs we've stayed in, Mermaid Inn goes straight to the top of the list.

Pros:
- Delicious breakfasts. Really, truly great. (By the way, we choose where we stay based on how the reviews are of the food and it lived up to expectations!) Breakfasts were served on the porch since the weather was so nice. The quality AND quantity was great!
- Relaxing setting. There was a porch swing, a hammock, a gazebo, a living room area, and of course our room (with a comfortable bed). All ideal for unwinding.
- Perfect location. Easily walkable to the seaport or to the downtown area.
- Outstanding customer service! Josephine was out of town so her sister (and her husband) were running things. They did not miss a detail. The first night there, our air conditioner was not functioning up to par, but wasn't quite dead. We let them know and it was immediately taken care of. I loved the little details such as the "mail boxes" outside the rooms (containing useful info), the makeup remover towelettes in the room and other small things that set them apart from other places. There were delicious snacks available and besides all of that, they were just so friendly!
- Clean. Clean. Clean. And clutter free. This B&B has a much more light/ airy feel than so many and I LOVE that. We stayed in the blue room. And seriously, the bedroom and bathroom were so clean that they looked brand new.

There were no cons... except the cliched (but true) one that we didn't stay there long enough.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mermaid Inn of Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Inn of Mystic

Address: 2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1843 Victorian Italianate in Historic Downtown Mystic.Short walk to everything. Lovely porches, gazebo, and grounds to sit and relax. During warm months enjoy your three course breakfast outside on the gazebo. Fresh baked goods, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and sherry are always available in the dining room. Guests are welcome to the baby grand piano and large selection of movies. Cozy, well appointed rooms offer private baths, robes, chocolates, fridge with water and soft drinks, and flat screen TV with DVD player. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Mystic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn of Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.