We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for the name brand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
247 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
(860) 536-3909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not good for the name brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is old and the smell was not good. Mystic Diner right next door is your better option. Would NOT go there again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Convenient and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were looking to have a quick meal on this occasion and this Friendly's was right by our hotel, so it conveniently fit the bill. I tried their Ultimate Grilled Cheese which consists of slices of melted Cheddar, American and Swiss cheeses sandwiched between their three cheese crusted sourdough bread. It was delicious. My wife was happy with her Crispy Chicken Salad and the kids enjoyed their burgers, chicken, & fries. Then, we finished off the meal with ice cream. All in all, the food and service were quite good. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Senior menu available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Noisy, bright, hard to find a semi quiet corner booth. Surprisingly found a heathy meal with granddaughters...naturally ending with ice cream! Friendly waiter!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Convenient but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went here for ice cream when, driving through mystic, we realized we wanted something sweet and were too late for any of the smaller family-owned placed to still be open. We tried to sit down in the dining room, but after five minutes with no one helping to seat us, we just walked over to the take-out section where the staff and the store manager were happy to help us, answer questions and take care of our order.

Other than that, there isn't much to say-- it's a Friendly's, not a gourmet or family-owned shop. Just a chain like any other but we were glad to have the ice cream that late at night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ice cream bonanza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ice cream lovers - get a HUGE sundae with all the trimmings for a ridiculously low price. Atmosphere is bright and you can do takeout as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.