We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food in the Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Peking Tokyo

Johnny's Peking Tokyo
12 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1938
860-572-9991
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Their presentation is beautiful.. but what good is a presentation without great taste? Pecking Tokyo has both. The food is fabulous and even if you think you don't like Sushi, try it here. Its fabulous! How lucky I am to live nearby!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Long time, No sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant was exactly what my girlfriend and I were looking for when we were craving sushi. The town in Germany that I live in is landlocked and the sushi is very basic. We went to Peking Tokyo on a whim and it was so good. The Green River Roll and the specials were excellent. Get your sushi here! Thanks Peking Tokyo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent - just a few notes if you're going.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On a windy, cold night, I spent half an hour circling the area before finally locating this fabulous restaurant. It's at the corner of a strip mall that also houses a Van Heusen store and a few others - if you're looking for it, turn into the Starbucks lot and go from there.
The food could not have been better. Well, I confess the ikura sushi didn't hold a candle to Matsuhisa's - but then again, even in Japan I've rarely had ikura that good.
The presentation at this place is stunning, best I've ever seen. And it's without pretension, which is usually the problem. Very much a real fusion of Japanese "wabi sabi" and West Coast pretty. But it's the food I'd return for. The salmon was so fresh, it melted on my tongue. The rice was cooked just right. The eel, yellowtail, white tuna, all perfect.
I had their current special roll and after that, I'd try any roll they recommended.
The seaweed salad was average - the kind that comes in bulk - but I wasn't really there for that.
The person I was with doesn't like sushi (the fool!), so he ordered spareribs and the Buddha's Feast. The ribs were nice and large, lots of meat, though if I was getting them I'd ask for less sauce, since the sweetness obscured the flavor somewhat. The Buddha's Feast was beautiful, with nice chunks of fresh vegetables that hadn't been overcooked, and a fair amount of tofu to boot. The sauce didn't taste of cornstarch. And the rice was very different from the sushi rice - as it should be!
I would recommend without hesitation, and I thank the Hyatt hotel clerk who recommended this to me!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Finally, a good Chinese/Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Low and behold, I have finally found a good Chinese/Japanese restaurant on this side of Connecticut. After reading other reviews of this place, my family and I decided to see what all the fuss was about. This restaurant is tucked in the corner of a small shopping plaza. Not much to look at from the outside, but as soon as you walk in WOW. The ambiance was magnificent. The staff was very attentive and friendly. They have a very extensive menu, sure to please anyone. My son and I ordered Lo Mein, while my wife ordered sashimi. We were all very pleased w/ the presentation, and taste of our choices. We will definitely be coming back to Johnny's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi choices in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Like this place better than Go Fish as there are more sushi options here. Not as good as you would find in large cities but it does the job when you are craving sushi. Also serve both Chinese and Japanese dishes, both of which are excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Peking Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's Peking Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Peking Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.