We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance, views and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
1 Holmes St, Mystic, CT 06355
+1 860-536-2674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, South American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ambiance, views and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hour long wait for our table was well worth it. Food was delist and the views were fantastic. The only disappointment was, that while waiting for our table, we went up to the bar and asked for Piña Colada and the bartender said that they were out of the ready made stuff to make it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    318
    116
    52
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the best seafood places I have ever eaten at. First there is the view, which I might add is spectacular. Second the atmosphere is terrific, and service is great. But the best part is definitely the food. Everything is just as you would hope. The oysters and fried oysters are fantastic, and the entrees are amazing. My favorite is the Seafood Ambrosia. Love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food disappointing but service and ambiance wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had lunch on a holiday Friday. The restaurant was busy but we called ahead and they were very accommodating. They gave us a beautiful table and were attentive and smiling. The only problem was that the food was just average. I had a lobster roll for $22 and found the lobster somewhat dry with a plain hamburger bun as the roll. The white bean and seafood chili appetizer was good but not great. Overall, the food did not live up to the venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“excellent food in Mystic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

THe four of us ordered the lobster, shrimp and scallops and the food was excellent...The scallops were some of the best I ever had...Service also was excellent

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food! But don't go when a Celebrity is there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have gone for 5 years in a row the food is out of this world, however today I was a bit disappointed the entire place was turned upside down because Taylor Swift was there! They ran out of some of the foods on their menu, it took a while to get another soda, and our reservation we had for upstairs was cancelled because Taylor had a private party. I understand things occur, but 2 manager came over, acted like we were dumb and we did not know what was going on and that Taylor was there, then no discount on the bill nothing at all, and we waited all year to go because we love the place so much! Food is Awesome without a doubt, but a bit disappointed on how they handled things while a celeb was there and that they were unprepared to serve certain things on the menu and ran out. We will still go again however no discount on our bill or anything we were a bit shocked, celebrity's also get put in front of others which is fine no problem but be prepared.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S & P Oyster Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.