We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
1 Holmes St, Mystic, CT 06355
+1 860-536-2674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
MYSTIC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great food and excellent views. Highly recommend outside dining during the summertime. In the heart of scenic village of Mystic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    341
    122
    54
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor CT
1 review
“Wonderful Winter Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Friendly from the moment we walked into the door. We sat on the 2nd floor overlooking the Mystic River. Our servers Shane and Will were knowledgeable and very attentive. The food was fresh and everything we had was excellent. We will definately return to the S & P Oyster Co.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pricey mediocrity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went with the hubs on a Friday night at 6. I was pleased to see it wasn't very busy but we were sat at their very "good" table at the window: next to the table of 10 with 4 ill behaved children! Yay! The service was random and very slow, the prices were high with an average entree at $25, and the food was mediocre at best. I had the seafood melange; the seafood was overlooked with no flavor in a pool of butter with flavorless bread crumbs on top. The hubs got the grilled seafood with polenta at $24 it had 2 scallops, 2 shrimp, and a small piece of what they purported was sushi grade tuna.... It was not!
The view of the river, the bridge, and your company would be the only draw to go here!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious & Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Love this restaurant. View of water while you dine on delicious food. Seafood Ambrosia is delicious. Staff, atmosphere and food are all perfect. Locals & tourists find this restaurant their favorite in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location and ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have always enjoyed S&P Oyster, so when we were in Mystic for our anniversary (and meeting our JP, his wife and our bagpipers for lunch) it was a natural choice. The food is consistently good and the view of the Mystic River outstanding. And since it was in the midst of a horrendous downpour, it was nice to watch and not be in it! The only downside is that if it is lovely, and you're wanting to make a reservation for more than 4 people, you can't be seated outside. Doesn't make sense to me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S & P Oyster Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.